Parents are the bedrock of their children's behaviour

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago

Just as the family is the foundation of society, parents are the foundation of whatever behavior their children exhibit the majority of the time.

Growing up, children are stucked with their parents most of the times and children are one of the smartest creatures out there especially during their formative stages.
That's why parents will always be wary of the type of behaviours anyone exhibits around their children because they will surely pick it up.
Since we are with our parents, we keep learning from what they do consciously and subconsciously even without their knowledge.


image.png

source

In that same way, it wasn't any different from my end, I learnt a lot from my parents, some of them which I modified as I grew older and some which are very perfect just the way they are.

From my mum, I learnt very important virtues:

Working Hard:

My mum is a seamstress and someone I'll describe as one of the most hardworking women out there.
Ideally in most families, mothers stay as housewives not contributing to the growth of the family in anyway and always keep demanding for this or that but I grew up with a mum who looks forward to fulfilling one project or another at the end of every year.

At the beginning of every year, she will look for a project she will fulfill and work towards achieving it and when you work hard with a plan in your head, it makes life easier because if you don't end up achieving that, you'll be very close to achieving it which in my books serves as a win-win situation.


image.png

source

Praying:

Well, I won't say my mum is a prayer warrior but then, she's a devoted Christian and a prayerful one.
Lest not for her, I won't have said even a single "Our Father" at home growing up because that's not what my father is after,lol.

Actually, over here, it just seems like mums pray more than dads so I wasn't surprised my dad joined the queue, lol.
Just like my mum, I've learnt to commit whatever thing I want to achieve into the hands of God.


image.png

source

Checking up on us:

My mum wins the award in doing this.

I could vividly remember when my elder brother went for his NYSC, a compulsory government service after University graduation at Jos, because my mum was scared of the insecurities linked up with the Northern part of Nigeria, she will always call my elder brother twice everyday till he finished... I mean for 365days straight, lol (can never be me though)

Even now at school, she calls us almost everyday and subconsciously, I've learnt this even though it's not as frequent as hers but atleast I've learnt to check up on my siblings and relatives atleast once a month.

From My Dad;

Drinking control:

My father enjoys drinking alcohol, but one thing I give him credit for is that he has never gotten home drunk, nor have I ever heard him behave in a questionable manner while drinking as a result of alcohol intoxication, and this is because he knows when to stop, he knows his limit, and once he reaches it, regardless of how many free bottles are available, he will not take any more.

When my dad hasn't been alcohol intoxicated before, why should I?

Habits are the core deciders of our behaviour with one another and this is to say that once you're of good behaviour, ideally, you will live your life trying to encompass everyone without constantly having troubles with whomever comes your way.
Learning all those good habits from my parents have continued to shape me to the best.

Anything good is good irrespective of where you learnt them from and should be preserved, so these good habits of my parents I learnt are indeed worth passing to the next generation and I will make sure my kids learns it from me not by me telling them about it but by them seeing me exhibit them in my daily life to life activities.

Thanks for reading and have a nice day

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56