SEC S15W4: "Broken Trust"

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago

Hello, my good and loving friends of this steemit @alipaul. How is life with you? Best wishes in all endeavors.

What do you think the word trust means?

pexels-photo-3022456.jpeg
Source

To me, the word trust is a firm belief in the reliability of someone or something. It is an agreement where a person (a trustee) holds a property as its nominal owner for the good of one or more beneficiaries.

In law, the word trust is a relationship in which the holder of property gives it to another person to keep and use it solely for the benefit of another person or group of persons.

I, as a person do have total trust of whoever I come into contact with for whatever relationship without caring to make a thorough investigation into who the person is. I seized to dine with any person once I discovered an iota of broken trust in the person.

Presently in your country, do the citizens feel safe to trust one another? If not why? And if yes why?

I am a Nigerian in West Africa, a country of about 230 million people with different ethnic nationalities with different cultural and religious backgrounds. With different cultural backgrounds, citizens feel unsafe to trust one another. Nigeria is a country where religion and ethnicity play a major role in the lives of the citizens.

In Nigeria today citizens do not have total self trust in one another, especially in this period where everybody loves money and worldly materials than fellow human beings and especially in this period of economic hardship.

One other major reason why people do not have safe trust in people is because everybody wants to amass wealth Everybody wants to live a luxurious life. Work less to earn much. Everybody wants to get everything not minding his fellow human beings. Also, almost every Nigerian wants to leave a high-class life leading to mistrust among themselves

Have you had any experience where your trust in someone was broken? Or such a scenario from a Friend?

Yes, I had a few experiences in which I had broken trust before now, but will only share two that had happened recently with me and some persons I so much trusted.

There is a cousin of mine whom we were brought up together that we so much understood ourselves and trusted ourselves in everything we do. I knew him to be a God-fearing person, who always stands by the truth and is always faithful in what he says and does.

Every one of us left to different places to struggle to find ends The trust we had for each other, I assumed it was still there, I asked him to find a Land for me where he lives because I want to live close to him because of our rapport. He secured the land very close to him and I paid and collected the sale agreement but did not process and obtain the necessary documents to back up the sales agreement, because of the trust we have with each other, I left the paper of the Land agreement with him.

From time to time I did go to expect the land, and after a few years, one faithful day when I was expecting the land, as usual, a neighbor told me that this land I was expecting had been sold out and all the necessary document backing the sale have been formalized in the local and state government that is, right of occupancy (R of O) and certificate of occupancy (C of O) which are legal documents backing ownership of land that I did not process. My inability to do that made it difficult for me to take any legal action.

The second experience I heard was from my landlord. I was transferred to another station and I met another person who accommodated me. The little time we had with each other we understood ourselves. That made me trust so much because of the type of reception he had for me.
He accommodated me and took proper care of me and we have things in common.
We did discuss the beauty and the difficulties of life and understood each other very well. I entrusted him with some sum of money to collect back when the need arose.

After a year, I demanded to get the money back he ended up telling me stories and at the end of the day I recovered only a quarter of the sum of the money with tears, and for more than 4 years now the remaining balance has not been recovered.

For the case of my cousin, I am still thinking of a way forward because no effort is being made on his side to appease me.

Can you suggest ways to mend broken trust?

One of the ways to avoid broken trust is to be patient with whoever has broken the trust, and still consider him as a friend and as a trustee.

Again let him understand what he has done I still tell him you trust and believe in him.

And also tell him life is nothing and it's all about being fair.

So far, this is what I have for the meantime,
Thank you for reading my post, I'm grateful for your time and support. I would love to invite my friends
@vickyson
@dava-hanny
@josepha
to join the contest.

Sort:  

Trust, to me, is a firm belief in someone or something's reliability. In Nigeria, citizens often feel unsafe to trust due to diverse cultural, religious backgrounds, economic hardships, and materialism. Experienced broken trust with a cousin who sold land without processing necessary documents and a friend who failed to repay borrowed money. Mending broken trust requires patience communication and reaffirming belief in the person. Inviting friends @vickyson, @dava-hanny, @josepha to join the contest

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65