Shattered; The Impact of Broken Promises

in Steem4Nigeria9 months ago

Greetings beautiful people of our beautiful community. Trust we are all doing good and this meets you well.

My warm regards to us all and a big appreciation really goes to the MODs and admin of this group. You people are doing a good job with the curation and reviewing and ensuring there is orderliness in the community. Ride on with the good job.

D6903CBB-3B88-4DE0-A535-86B745A5358A.jpeg
Source

Today am going to participate in this contest with the hints and guidelines given.

A promise in my own words is the assurance someone gives you that he or she will do a particular thing to you or for you. That is to say that the person gave you his or her word and that’s why it’s as if most people put their hope so much in peoples promise. They tend to trust that the person will come through and when the person doesn’t it really hurts.

There could be a couple of reasons why people break their promise. Some include:

  • Carelessness; some people have character issues which includes not been careful and exact to keep their promises. The people under this category doesn’t take anything seriously including their promises.

I’ve met people like this who have broken their promises so many time and they laught over it. I started disregarding whatever they say and not put it to heart to avoid hurting.

  • Lack of integrity in some persons can be reasons why people Break their promise. People who have no value for their words. It takes a man of integrity to say something and stand by it. Some people lack this virtue.

  • Inability to meet up with promises. Some persons may have the mind to do what they pledged but encounter situations bigger than them and hence not able to fulfill their promises.

  • Some persons may not have the capacity to say no to people, hence they keep on making promises that they may not have the capacity to fulfill.

I’ve experienced people who made promises to me and they broke it. Infact one of the things you will do to me to make me feel so bad is to make me a promise and not fulfill it.

Am even forward to tell people that instead of making promises to me that they don’t have any intention of fulfilling, that they shouldn’t make the promise at all.
This is because I feel so much pain and heart break when people don’t keep their promises and this has helped me to try as much as I can to fulfill my promises to people.

I handle broken promises both ways by either letting go or confronting it depending on who the person is to me or the relationship between me and that person.

I’ve actually noticed that if I confront it not in a bitter way though, it helps be to heal faster than keeping it all in. I will mention it to you that am not happy about what you did and that ends it.

I don’t belief promises are meant to be broken because you gave your word and the person actually trusts you to deliver.Hence you should do all you can to ensure you fulfill your promises.

There could be an exception to this if the promise was made on a conditional ground and the other party didn’t keep their own side of the bargain, then the promise can be broken but outside this, ensure to keep the promise.

37675046-B98A-4ECB-AA7B-F2EDD839A717.jpeg
Source

Trust is quite difficult to rebuild after it’s broken but one can try. Some of the always would include;

  • Owing up and taking responsibility for what you did, don’t form victim or make excuses. Be remorseful.

  • Being open to forgiveness will help to rebuild trust.

  • When you’ve forgiven that person, leave the things that happened in the past in the past, don’t always recall the past

  • Try as much as you can do ensure you keep your words next time. Following up on even the little things can help amidst many other things.

Thank you and hope you love mt content. I invite @pandora2010, @shiftitamana and @marito74 to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 9 months ago 
CriteriaRemark
Verified User
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free
AI Free
Bot Free
#burnsteem25×
#clubClub5050
Voting CSI20.9
Review Date2/12/2023

MODs Comment/Recommendation:

You have presented beautifully, I wish you the very best.

Remember to always share your post on Twitter.

Hi, Endeavor to join the #Nigeria-trail for more robust support in the community. Click the link Nigeria-trail to join.

Guide to join

Noted. Thank you for the review

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59181.56
ETH 2521.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47