SEC WK2 : The language in my country

in Steem4Nigeria8 months ago
Greetings and welcome to my blog.

B67D20C4-1B32-4420-BB1C-FC9A7A0F6C3E.jpeg
Pixabay

I am proudly a Nigerian and Nigeria is the name of my Country, known as the giant of Africa. Nigeria is home to 525 native languages with three major ethnic groups which have their own language which is Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba.

These three tribe are the three main languages but Nigeria has English language as it commonly spoken language because of the influence of the colonial era. So English is commonly used by most of the populace even the government in relating to the country and the citizens.

638F7A89-FB51-4E1D-93A0-C9ECE18B1358.jpeg
Pixabay

Among all the 525 languages spoken, am only very conversant with English language and my native language which is Igbo language. Am very fluent in these and I understand a little bit of Yoruba and a smidgen of Hausa. I grew up in the eastern part of Nigeria and am from the eastern part and Igbo language is very common around there . The igbo language is said to be spoken by about 40million of the Nigerian populace with the Hausa been the most spoke language.

The igbo language had helped me immensely in my communication with the people around me. Some persons who are not educated do not have ability to speak English especially those in the interior villages of my country. Hence knowing how to speak this native language has helped me to relate with them fluently and also carry out my business endeavors.

1BE39258-2ED0-4401-B67C-8CC9CF949B2E.jpeg
Pixabay

Two cannot work together except they agree, hence no communication, no business. So the language helps me in buying and selling my products. When I go to foreign lands where this native language is not spoken, I readily look out for people who speak it and blend easily with them for business purposes.

Am more than willing to teach my children my native language so that they can easily relate with their loved ones , family and those in their environment. We have a lot of children who grow up without knowing their native language and there’s some kind of awkwardness I find with that. It’s good for children to be conversant with their native language, it will help them blend in effectively.

Thank you for visiting my blog. Your comments are welcomed. I invite @divinelife, @presh07 and @juliusinimotimi to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 8 months ago 

Nigeria es el gigante de África donde coexisten una gran variedad de tribus cada una de ellas con sus propios lenguajes. El inglés es el idioma predominante el cual es una lengua que nos permite comunicarnos con cualquier persona en todo el mundo.

Éxitos en el concurso.

Thank you friend for dropping by my blog. Success too. My warm regards

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Hello friend

Indeed Nigeria has lots of languages ranging above 500 languages, it is obvious that you are fluent in English and Igbo which is a thing of joy and gladness. The language became popular as a result of the colonial era as you highlighted. You are fluent with Igbo language for people in the interior village to communicate fluently with them I enjoyed your entry and success in the challenge my dear friend

Well said friend. Thank you for visiting my blog. Weldone and success in the engagement.

 8 months ago 

Alexanderpeace, your pride in Nigeria's linguistic diversity shines. Fluent in English and Igbo, your ability to bridge gaps in communication is commendable, especially in rural areas. Your commitment to passing on Igbo to your children for cultural connection is inspiring. Well done, I would one day love to learn Igbo language as well.
Wishing you success on your entry.

Thank you so much my friend for visiting my blog and dropping a valid comment.

My warm regards and I wish you success too

Wow, it's amazing to know that Nigeria has a total languages count of 525. This multiple languages factor has qualify us the giant of Africa. Apart from my mother tongue (Ibibio) and English language, I am willing to learn Igbo language and improve on Yoruba language. The reason is that I want to be a multilinguist. It's true that no business can start or br concluded without the understanding of a certain language. Awesome post and Good luck.

Your desire is actually a beautiful one. Being multilingual has it advantages.

Best regards and thank you for visiting my blog.

 8 months ago 

Each time the name Giant of Africa pop up, then that person is directly talking about Nigeria.

Nigeria is so rich with languages and it's good you speak your native language igbo which is a national language in the country and English which is official to helps you in communication mostly with foreigners.

Our heritage is rich and unique and so passing to our children leads to continuity.
Good luck 🤞

Yes ooo
Our culture is worth passing down to the next generation

 8 months ago 

What if you happen to marry someone that is not from ibo… how will they learn d language?

I will teach them naa..🌝

 8 months ago 

Your children should be ready to learn so many languages at a time oh cos hubby won’t agree too.. 😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63