Creative Cooking in a Culinary Contest| Sweet & Savoury Plantain Delight

in Steem4Nigeria9 months ago (edited)

Hello Everyone,

Plantains are a tropical fruit originated in Southeast Asia. They grow in a variety of green, yellow and red colours. Usually yellow plantains have a sweet taste than the green and red plantains. A peel that's turning black is an emphasis on the plantain's ripeness.

Across many regions of the world including Southeast Asia, Africa, North America, Latin America and the Caribbean, plantain is considered as a staple in many traditional dishes. And today I'm going to present you a spicy plantain dish that is famous in Sri Lanka... I'm sure that you would love it...

Created Using Canva

Now let's see how to prepare this tasty dish.

Ingredients

  • Ripening plantains
  • Onions
  • Pepper
  • Curry Leaves
  • Mustard
  • Turmeric
  • Rampe
  • Garlic
  • Green Chillies
  • Chilli Flakes
  • Sugar
  • Salt

Method

First you have to peel the plantain and cut them as I have shown below
Next you have to steam it for 15mins
Then heat a pan, add oil to it and once the oil is heated add spices, sugar and salt to the pan and stir well.
Afterwards add the steamed plantains and stir well.
Leave it for 3mins and now your spicy plantain dish is ready.
Images were taken using Infinix Smart5

Now let's see the health benefits of plantains.

  • Improve Digestion
  • Boost Immunity
  • Improve Brain Function
  • Improve Heart Health
  • Lower Cholesterol
  • Strengthen Bones
  • Increase Energy

Living in a traditional country, as a girl it is our responsibility to help our mom with cooking and cleaning as engaging in household activities are considered to be part of a role of a girl. Therefore I have been helping my mom with cooking since the age of twelve and now I seem to master in the art of cooking and I do it with love for my family. I also find new recipes from youtube and try them while inventing my own recipes as well. However I always concern about the health benefits when cooking because healthy food promise us good health.

Hope you enjoyed my recipe. Thank you @manuelhooks for hosting this contest creating a platform for everyone to share their culinary creativity. Before concluding my participation I would like to invite @kusal @besticofinder and @dilums to participate in this contest.

Wishing you all great days ahead till I meet you with a delicious cuisine once again....

Thank You
Abhimani Fernando

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66