You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Faszinierende Köcherfliegen

in Deutsch Unplugged2 years ago

Caddisfly... ich sehe jetzt den englischen Namen in Wikipedia, aber ich kenne dieses Tier auch nicht. Ich hab so etwas nie gesehen.
But I can say that with each passing year I am horrified by the new insects I see in the garden and the house we live in now. These animals came to our house last summer. And I was really scared, because I only saw them at night in the hallway by the front door. And I was tired of constantly taking these little monsters out.
Then we had an invasion of ladybugs, also of shield bugs, along with other unknown insects...
I really don't want to think about what new species/what kind of monsters will appear this year 🤔

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Haha, in the house I would not like to have the fashion beetle or many of them either.
In principle, however, I welcome a wide variety of insects. Far too many species are already extinct, I miss so many! My mother used to get a few cents for every cockchafer when she was a child, because they were a nuisance. Today I am thrilled when I find one at all. Well, thanks to the human being and his extensive agriculture and environmental pollution... :-(

Agricultural chemicals are leading to the extinction of species (Do you remember the fireflies too?), while international trade is importing unknown aggressive species.
Anyway. Today my boyfriend told me that he knows and remembers from childhood the insects that you show - Köcherfliegen. He even told me their name in Bulgarian and described to me where they live and what they look like. I attribute this to the fact that he grew up in another part of the country. Because I have never seen them in the part where I grew up 🙂.
So, at least it is reassuring that these animals are not "imported". They have been living in Europe for many years.

 2 years ago 

Firefly... do you mean this species?

Bildschirmfoto 2022-03-17 um 11.47.10.png

I do not know them.
But we have a lot of these firebugs (they can fly, too) in the garden when summer is comming:

Well, I've seen the adult caddisfly before (many and often), but I've never noticed the "Köcher" directly.

Very exciting - it's fun to keep discovering something new in your own backyard.... 😊

Firebugs can fly? I didn't know that. But they are the most harmless animals to me. At least regarding people.
Under fireflies I mean these animals and more precisely the males, because it turns out that only they fly.
A few years ago, there was an interview with a Portuguese scientist who said that she had moved to Bulgaria because there were still fireflies there. At that time, however, I saw fireflies in Belgium, and in recent years I see that in Bulgaria they are less common, even almost completely extinct.
Anyway. In our garden, our cats are the greatest discoverers of animals. Cruel discoverers, of course. They bring out from hedges and shrubs amazing species that would probably never have come to light otherwise. And then eat them. 😕🙃

 2 years ago (edited)

Ah, okay, these bugs are fireflies (Glühwürmchen).
Yes, we still have a few of them. But not as many as before. In the summer they sometimes flash and I'm happy about it... :-))
Our dogs rarely go to insects - it could be a wasp they have already painfully felt. Alright, butterflies at the height of a dog's snout are too tempting after all.... ;-)
And mice they like to eat...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58088.10
ETH 2353.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44