You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Das Buch, das noch geschrieben werden muß - geht weiter! / The book that still has to be written - continues!

in Deutsch Unplugged3 months ago

cooking, knitting, milking, swearing,

Lol at that list :D haha!

Too much warmth was probably not good for me in their eyes.

It always blows my mind that the older generations seemed to so strongly "shun" warm, emotional expression of any kind... and blindly this "approach to life" still gets continued without any real sense or thought given to the "why" - nor, how much this negatively affects people.

Not everything he said coincided with the teachings that were drummed into us in our ‘youth camps’. I couldn't categorise him, but he was the first person with whom I had the feeling that I was being taken seriously and listened to. There were a few other people with whom I could talk openly about my doubts and lack of understanding.

Whether your thoughts and opinions align or not, these kinds of relationships are particularly precious, because both sides can share or enquire without any judgement or preaching from either side.

Sad that you were "torn" from your grandparents and the value they no doubt would have added to your formative years, but at least you did eventually reconnect. Better late than never I suppose... and yes, I do agree that I am certain they would have been able to open your eyes to the world or impart knowledge on to you in a gentler way which did not make you feel a little like a square peg in a round hole.

Though, I suppose the exposure to some level of "survival" and the skill set that comes along with that sort of thing is no doubt something you value now...

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

In fact, as much as I struggle with my family and the circumstances of my childhood, I know that they made me a pretty tough and straightforward person. The hard way, that is ;-))

I would say that they ABSOLUTELY did!!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62