Steemit Health Contest #11: How I Manage My Mental Health

in STEEMIT HEALTH2 years ago


Photo_1673007115380_1.png
Cover Image Created using Poster Maker

Good day Steemians, It's my first time here, and I'm so excited to be here and participate in the contest organized by @nadiaturrina with the topic Mental Health. Today I will be sharing with you my knowledge about mental health, its causes, and how I do manage my mental health. Follow me as I proceed with the topic.



What do you know about mental health?

Mental health can simply be defined as the psychological, emotional, and social well-being of an individual. It is influenced by the way we think, act, feel, how to relate to others, and manage stress. Mental Health is very important in every stage of life which include childhood, teenage/adolescence till adulthood as it helps in living a good life and a life with the absence of mental disease or disorder.


mental-health-4232031__480.jpg
Image source

Having good mental health involves thinking and feeling positive about oneself and one manage or coping with everyday stress which comes either from people, work, or the environment. Mental health can change at any given point in time if one fails to understand how to cope or manage with stress.

If at any point a person is feeling depressed or having issue dealing with everyday stress or problem, such a person should seek help as it could be a result of mental health disorder or problem before the condition got worsen. Some might need only counseling or therapy while some need to be in a positive environment or around people, some need rest or vacation to gain their good mental health back.



What causes mental health disorders?


There are many causes attributed to mental health disorders and I will be discussing them below.

Childhood Abuse and Trauma: Subjecting a child to any sort of abuse or parent fighting/ cursing each other in their child's presence, or having experienced sexual assault do influence the children negatively leading to mental health disorders which can affect their childhood days to adulthood and such child might not be able to overcome his or her fear, negative words, anxiety, and depression without help from people or professionals.


child-1855658__480.webp
Image source

Loneliness and Social Isolation: This can be a problem from childhood days when parents are so busy with their careers and neglecting their kids making them lonely with no social activities or interaction, growing up in such an environment it may lead children to be grown to be isolated because they are not used to mingling with others, and at some point, this can lead to depression as they have no one to share their thoughts with or having anxiety disorder/panic when approached by an outsider.

Discrimination and Stigma: This is also a common cause of mental health disorder, when someone is being ridiculed or disgraced or bullied maybe because of their color (racism), or not belonging to some set of people because of financial issues, gender or other issues making them feel unloved and unwanted which can make the victim afraid, hurt, depressed, and anxious.


bully-3233568__480.webp
Image source

Bereavement: Losing loved ones or someone so close does affect the good mental health of some people because the loss shakes them so badly that they find it hard to move on.

Stress: Severe or long time stress also causes mental health disorders, working for long hours without having a good and healthy sleep will affect the body and brain, example was someone I know working for 20 hours per day and when the brain and body could not manage the stress, he started talking and behaving irrationally.


employee-6038877__480.webp
Image source



Effect of Mental Health Disorder

Some of the effects of mental health disorders include depression, low and negative energy, delusions, fear, hallucinations, eating disorders, inability to cope with daily stress or problem, anxiety, self-blame, shutting themselves out of the world, trouble expressing themselves, relating to situations and people.



How do you manage your mental health?

Below are how I manage my mental health

Healthy Sleep: My job can be stressful and to maintain good mental health, I do ensure I sleep at least 8 hours a day and doing that refresh my body and brain.

Engaging in what I love: Anything I feel lonely, bored, or disturbed, I engage myself in what I love doing such as listening to music, reading, and playing games to remain positive and happy.


IMG_20220805_181520_448.jpg
My selfie taken at a park with location

Sightseeing: going to parks and some other lovely places do help in managing my mental health as I will feel happy watching and participating in the activities and the serene environment also contributes to it.



Conclusion

Mental health is important to everyone as this influence our cognitive and behavioral well-being and as life is full of ups and down both good and bad, one has to know how best to manage mental health to avoid mental health disorder. Furthermore, a parent should be mindful of their behavior and act in the presence of their kids so as not to influence their mental health negatively. Thanks to @nadiaturrina for organizing this interesting contest, this is where I will be stopping for now, thank you all for reading.

I invite @jasminemary, @yakspeace, and @ruthjoe to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

Saludos amiga me encantó mucho como elaboraste tu post te felicito la salud mental es muy importante en el individuo.para tener una buena salud mental es importante estar en paz con uno mismo.

Yes, mental health importance can not be taken for granted, I'm glad you like my post, thanks for reading.

Thank you my dear friend, for inviting me. You have written very well about how you do maintain your health. I wish you success.

Amen, I hope to see your entry soon.

 2 years ago 

Interesting facts about mental health here and how you chose to manage yours by doing what you love that’s a great way to distract oneself from the trouble of the environment.
Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47