Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 8 Week 2: My Traditional Medicine

png_20230307_121603_0000.png

Image edited on Canva

Greetings to everyone here in this great community of great and healthy minds, I believe we're all doing well in good shape shape of body and mind. I'm @samuelebuka and I'm here to participate in this contest my traditional medicine. This is one interesting topic I would really want to participate in as it will help me and other users to learn more about medicines.

Question 1 -What are the names of traditional medicines in your country that you know?


I'm from Nigeria and in Nigeria we have so many traditional medicines some of which are :

  1. Agbo Jedi : which is from the western part of Nigeria as it's commonly used and prepared amongst the Yoruba people in Nigeria

  2. Agbo iba : this is found in the western and eastern part of Nigeria too but mostly used and prepared In the eastern part of Nigeria by the Igbo people or so

  1. Ruwan zogolai : this is a traditional medicine in Nigeria and it is most common in the northern part of Nigeria. It is used to control high blood pressure and other related illness because of its high nutritional value.

Question 2 -Please share with us a traditional medicine recipe that you know, then write down the steps for making it.


A commonly used traditional medicine I know very well is the agbo Jedi because my mum prepares it for us at home anytime we fall ill, it is used to cure malaria and typhoid. The recipe making it is not hard to get in my locality because we make use of ingredients that are easily accessible in the environment like back of trees, roots etc. the commonly used recipes are:
1.Grated ginger
2.Honey
3.Apple Vinegar
4.Cinnamon powder
5.Chopped fresh parsley
6.Lemon

Snapchat-945596466.jpg
Pictures of Some of the ingredients used

Steps for making agbo Jedi


  1. Boil a pot of water with roots and back of trees for about 10 minutes

  2. Add honey and allow it to boil so as to add a little sweetener to it

  3. Add apple vinegar and the grated ginger and stire, allow it to boil for another 3 minutes

  4. Add other ingredients and allow it to boil for another 3 minutes and stire it

  5. Allow it to cool off, boom you have a traditional made medicine to cure malaria and typhoid and other related disease.

Question 3 -What are the uses (benefits) of these traditional medicines?


The "agbo Jedi" is usually used to cure malaria and typhoid disease. The cost of malaria drugs in my locality is a bit expensive and not everyone can afford such. After many continuous use of the medicine by my parents and other people in my community, it is tested and trusted that the agbo Jedi is very effective in treating malaria and typhoid and also helps to threat genital malfunctions in men.

Question 4 -Are there any negative effects from it? If so, please state anything!


As the saying goes to much of everything is not good. Although, I haven't found or heard of any side effects of this medicine but I believe when it's abused it may have a side effect.

Snapchat-821069492.jpg

Conclusion

Traditional medicines are sometimes more effective than modern day drugs because it has no or less side effects than the modern day drugs, it also less expensive and more economical and easily accessible. Thank you so much for reading through I will also love to invite my friends @v-brainer @solexybaba and @promis-levi to this contest

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you for sharing this healthy recipe with us. Ginger and lemon is my favorite. Because I always use these two natural ingredients in my daily life..

This is very effective and good post. Thank you for sharing with us. Good luck for the contest.

Thank you so much dear friend. I'm also a lover of lemon because of its many health benefits..
Thank you so much for reading through

Your post has been supported by @josepha from team 2 of the Community Curation Program, at 30%. We invite you to continue sharing quality content on the platform, and continue to enjoy support, and also a likely spot in our weekly top 7.
Voting date:

8/03/2023


image.png

Thank you so much sir..
This means a lot
Steem to the world

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56855.76
ETH 2540.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24