Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 8, week 1: My learning during the Pandemic

in STEEMIT HEALTHlast year
AddText_02-28-12.23.23.jpgEdited on add text app,image source

Hello friends,

It's so good to know that a fresh season of Steemit engagement challenge has began, this is week 1 and am already enjoying the topics. And here is my entry to my learning during Pandemic

Even though the Pandemic was not a great experience because lives were lost, jobs and business were lost and even countries didn't recover so fast, there were lessons I leant from it and I would pen down some of it today.

What do you consider to be the main lesson you learned from the pandemic

In my country Nigeria, the pandemic began in the year 2020 precisely in March. At that time I was in the city of Lagos, and that was the first affected state in Nigeria. The government immediately announced lockdown of the city. Everything was suspended including businesses, schooling I mean everything.

At that point citizens were not only dying of the pandemic but they were also dying of hunger. I search for alternatives to work and get money. people started going online to look for jobs and engage in all sorts investment. I joined them too in looking for what to do online to raise money for upkeep. And these are the lessons I leant

  • The first lesson I learnt was that the best place for business or to earn money was online. I saw how people lost their physical business because we were on lockdown for almost a year.

  • The second lesson I learnt was the value of family. During the pandemic I saw how families lost their loved ones, I saw how some people struggled for their lives to survive the health issue. My family and I don't stay together, usually I don't always call them to check up but since after the pandemic I saw the value of family. I constantly call my parents and siblings to check on them now.

  • I leant that keeping to simple instructions might just be your way to safety: yes because during the pandemic, the government came up with instructions like wearing of face mask, hand sanitizing policy, avoidance of crowd but they were people who felt these instructions didn't matter and at the end, they saw the effects.

Did you have any loss of family members or friends because of the pandemic?

During the pandemic and after the pandemic, I did lose any family members or friends. Even though I feel bad about those who lost friends and family members, am so grateful that I didn't.

What was the most difficult moment during the pandemic?

The most difficult moment for me was having to stay indoors for about 8months. Generally, I do not like been confined to a room or a space for a very long time, I can easily get bored. When I am bored I can even fall sick. One of those days when I was indoors, I started having fever. I guess people around me would feel I have also contacted the virus. But I alone knew the problem.

IMG_20230225_150455_400.jpgpicture of myself

I would stay at home from morning till night. It was really difficult for me to deal with.

After all the Process do you value your health more?

Of course I value my health more now. Do you know during the pandemic when I watch the news, I see the count of people who died that day due to the pandemic. It was not a good feeling or experience.

That time when I had a fever during the pandemic, the way people around me who knew I had fever treated me was not so good so yes I know the value of my health.

Infact now, each time I come home from work or back to the house, before I touch anything I go straight to the bathroom to have my bath. If I won't have my bath, I would go straight to the kitchen to wash my hands.

Now I eat well and make sure I drink lots of water because now I know my health is really important. I also try as much as I can to eat fruits. You know the economy of Nigeria right now is not encouraging but I try.

Did the pandemic impart your finances positively or negatively? How did you cope?

The pandemic was an experience that has refused to leave my mind. The pandemic changed lives and changed the course of nature too.

For me, the pandemic really imparted me negatively at first. I was totally broke. I didn't have money. I had to stay at a friend's house for the period of 8 months. She was taken care of my feeding. Believe me it was so bad. If not for my friend maybe I would have died of hunger. I also had to cut down on my expenditure too.

The pandemic also imparted me positively because I started thinking outside the box searching for ways to come out from lack and wants. Before you know it I got to know about steemit. And am glad I joined.


Conclusion

The pandemic experience was horrible. And I sympathize with those who lost lives and properties or job. I pray and hope that it doesn't happen again. I thank this community for giving me an opportunity to share my experience.

Thank you for reading. I invite my friends to join this contest @lhorgic @sahmie

Sort:  

That season is one of a kind truly...we all have different experiences although 95% of it wasn't palatable. Good to see your entry for this contest. Thanks for the invite.

You are welcome boss

Dear @ruthjoe,
I'm sorry to hear that you had to go through a tough financial situation during the pandemic, but it's great to see that you were able to find a way out and even discover Steemit as a platform for earning money. hank you for sharing your experience.

Thank you for your support.

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @sduttaskitchen

TEAM 4 CURATORS

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41