Steemit Engagement Challenge Season8 Week1: My learning during the pandemic

in STEEMIT HEALTHlast year
Introduction

It feels good to be here in this community. The topic in question actually caught my attention and I could not but respond to it by dropping and entry. A very big thanks to the great community for putting this up.

photo-1584036561566-baf8f5f1b144.jpeg

unsplash

The pandemic ravaged the world in such a very short time and left an imprint which many of the countries around the world are still salvaging. It not a news that we also had a share of this world event. It affected a lot of Nigerians including me.

I will be sharing in this post my experience in line with the guidelines provided for this contest by the host. So kindly tag along as I take you on a ride.


What do you consider to be the main lesson you learned from the pandemic?

There were a lot of lesson learnt during the pandemic which ravage the whole world in a twinkle of an eye .The main lesson for me would be that things can be done differently and that we humans have tremendous ability to adapt. This for me is like the summary of the whole experience.

It suddenly dawned on me that people including myself and family began to adjust to what we call the new normal. Prior to this time, people weren't taking washing of hands seriously but the pandemic made it a lifestyle for all, even in so many establishment today, we still have this up and running.

photo-1610703415552-d7fca41a8857.jpeg

unsplash

There was nothing wrong with shaking hands prior to the time Corona came but all of a sudden it became a taboo in order to curb the spread, we then invented the elbow kind of greeting..so funny but in all of these we scaled through. Corona is fast becoming a thing of the past. All glory to God.


Did you have any loss of family or friends because of the pandemic? Can you tell us about it?

To the glory of God, there was no record of loss of any family member. It can only be by God's mercies and not because we were careful enough. I personally heard of the demise of so many people although not related to me in any way. They were rich and well to do but they still died during pandemic and the unfortunate part of it was that their money couldn't save them. It's obvious here that money doesn't answer all things.


What was the most difficult moment during the pandemic?

The most difficult moment for me was that I had to be grounded for a year without tangible progress especially academically. I could remember I was in my finals the very year the virus broke out . School activities had to be put on hold just to curb the virus.

Prior to this time, we had experienced some internal delay which has already affected the normal time we were suppose to graduate as student and then corona came to cap it all. We were at home for almost a complete session without doing anything.

I couldn't even apply for menial jobs because I was scared I wasn't going to be holding on to it for long since school would be resuming anytime soon. The only thing I could do was to learn some skills online and also collaborate with those who wanted to teach certain skills.

photo-1609774401802-cc788b4d88ae.jpeg

unsplash

It was not an easy experience at all, we had to live on the little we had as savings before the virus broke out. Stay-at-home/ lockdown was the order of the day, there were no robust economic activities, we were shut in for months without palliatives or relief items. The ones available were embezzled.. that's a story for another day.


After all that process, do you value your health more?

Health is indeed wealth, I value it more than I used to. During that period we were so careful to relate with people, everyone was like a suspect because we weren't sure the person is whole. We avoided handshake, hugs, close contact with friends and neighbors because we wanted to ensure we were fit health wise.

Corona has come and has gone with it grave consequences but the health measures we adopted in combating it still remains in our subconscious. I value my health even more now.


Did the pandemic impact your finances positively or negatively? How did you cope?

It had a negative impact on me financially as it was difficult to get enough money to cater for myself. Establishments were shutting down operations and laying off workers. We were kept inside and not allowed to moved freely except you are a medical or health practitioner.

All we had on us were savings which of course was channeled into feeding, what was leaving me was more than what was coming in as income. It was quite a difficult experience. It wasn't long before people started coming out of their lockdown because hunger and lack drove them out forcefully.


Conclusion

The corona period was a make and break period for people especially in Nigeria. While so many people burnt from the heat of the period, many other benefitted from it greatly and made the kind of money they have never made in their entire life. Although it's not a period anyone should pray for but it also came with goodies for many.

Permit me to wrap up at this point .Thank you so much for coming this far with me. Just before I go, let me invite my friends @josepha @ruthjoe @enamul17 @negro-bby to this contest. I hope they find it interesting enough to make an entry. Gracias!


Regard
@lhorgic♥️


Sort:  

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @ubongudofot

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

Thanks for the support. It's much appreciated.

Loading...
 last year 

Indeed, during the pandemic there were a lot of hardships coupled with the lockdown, which affected several homes. I am happy that none of your family members or friends were affected. I wish you the best of luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41