Steemit Engagement Challenge Season8 Week1: My learning during the pandemic

in STEEMIT HEALTHlast year (edited)

covid.png

The topic of the pandemic has brought me to be part of the Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 8 Week1 published by Steemit Health Community. Everyone feels the impact on himself, his family, and the environment where he lives due to the pandemic COVID-19, which attacked the world and was first identified in December 2019 in the city of Wuhan.

What do you consider to be the main lesson you learned from the pandemic?

As health workers at Health Service Facilities in North Aceh District (Puskesmas), the pandemic has provided important lessons, not only for us health workers but for the community in general, with a population in Meurah Mulia District reaching 21,220 people spread across 50 villages.

The COVID-19 pandemic has become my biggest fear as a health worker who has been specifically assigned to the COVID-19 Handling Team. Imagine that this virus is known to be very deadly; it attacks through the air from patients who test positive, then through direct contact with sufferers.

Case detection continues to increase from time to time, so the Government of Indonesia, through the Ministry of Health, continues to try to provide solutions to this critical situation through the implementation of health protocols and providing vaccinations to the community.

The most important lesson from the COVID-19 pandemic is how all elements of society are sensitive to personal and environmental hygiene as vectors for disease transmission, not only oriented towards the COVID-19 virus but all types of diseases caused by personal and environmental hygiene.

The positive impact of this pandemic is that I, as a health worker, continue to use personal protective equipment while on duty, and for the general public, I have gotten used to wearing masks as a new tradition in my area. Even though the government has revoked the pandemic status, the majority of the population has adopted the practice of wearing masks.

In addition, the application of personal hygiene and sanitation has been implemented in general by the community, as can be seen from the reduction in morbidity caused by the environment, such as upper respiratory tract infections and diarrhea, in the last 3 years.

The community has realized the existence of personal and environmental hygiene as an important part of achieving optimal health status, as conveyed by health workers in regular health counseling.

Did you have any loss of family or friends because of the pandemic? Can you tell us about it?

The pandemic has left many sad stories; I was shocked when I read the news that colleagues who tested positive were isolated in the hospital and died, and then my other colleagues in different health care facilities suffered a tragic fate.

He served as a nurse in a community health center and had additional duties as an ambulance driver. He regularly interacted with patients in the treatment room and referred patients to other provinces in Indonesia. With initial complaints of feeling feverish and then starting to have shortness of breath, he was treated at a hospital in North Sumatra Province.

Based on the results of the PCR (polymerase chain reaction) test, he tested positive for COVID-19 and died after 2 days of receiving intensive care. I was shocked to get the news from the WhatsApp group saying he had breathed his last because of the Corona virus.

What was the most difficult moment during the pandemic?

The COVID-19 pandemic has changed everything, even with restrictions on activities globally that have implications for the community's economy. Many schools have had to be closed and replaced with an online learning process.

As an automotive entrepreneur, I really feel the impact of this pandemic. Usually every month I am able to sell at least 2 used four-wheeled vehicles, but due to declining people's income and purchasing power, sales from my business have fallen sharply; within 6 months I was only able to sell 1 car.

This was a difficult condition, so I had to use investment assets that I kept in several exchanges to make ends meet during the pandemic. Thankfully, today things are back to normal and I am able to run my business well, even though it's not what it used to be before the pandemic started.

After all that process, do you value your health more?

As health workers, we value health as a basic element, but I realize that the activities I have been doing so far have not been maximized to maintain a healthy body condition. Previously, I did not exercise regularly, but after the pandemic, I did light exercise for 20 minutes every morning before leaving for the health service facility (push ups).

Then there's the mask, which I used to only wear during medical appointments, but now it's a must-have for outdoor activities due to the high pollution (dust) in my area, which causes respiratory tract infections.

Did the pandemic impact your finances positively or negatively? How did you cope?

The pandemic has greatly affected the financial sector in my life. With my main income as a government employee unable to accommodate the level of family needs, the automotive business has helped me overcome financial deficits before the pandemic occurred.

Restricting people's space for movement has implications for the community's economic sector, so that many small and medium businesses have to close, and I am no exception; even though the business I run remains active, people's purchasing power has dropped dramatically. This automatically affects my economy.

Then, as government employees, our benefits were stopped because they had to be allocated for handling the pandemic that was happening. On the other hand, we had to donate to the state to accommodate the needs and handling of COVID-19 victims, which continued to increase from time to time.

I have to be wise in dealing with this; family needs are an essential element that must be met. I even sold almost 70% of the cryptocurrency assets in the external wallet platform to meet the necessities of life during the pandemic.


Covid-19 has taught me valuable lessons as a health worker and has encouraged the public in general to continue to maintain their health as an investment for the future. Maintaining a healthy lifestyle and maintaining personal hygiene and environmental hygiene are important elements to avoid vectors that cause disease.

Posts related to my activities during the Covid-19 Pandemic:
- The Corona Diaries | The Impact of Corona Virus on My Work
- The Corona Diaries | I am and Moderna's 3rd Vaccine
- ACTSOFKINDNESS - The Corona Diaries | Covid-19 Vaccine for Students
- The Corona Diaries - Corona Virus Impact In My Life, Covid-19 Vaccine for Students
- ACT Of KINDNESS - COVID-19 VACCINE For SOCIETY

Monday, February 27, 2023
irawandedy

Sort:  
Loading...

Este virus no ha enseñado, a ser más cuidadoso y usar medidas de bioseguridad, algo que no ayuda a evitar el contagio, no educamos para mejor vida.
Saludos.

 last year 

Thank God today that the pandemic is over. Indeed, people suffered a lot, and I am happy to see that you and your loved ones were safe during the pandemic, which left you with the lessons you have learned. I wish best of luck.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @ubongudofot

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41