Steemit Health Community Contest #3 : my favorite vegetables.

in STEEMIT HEALTH2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20221103_114418.jpg

Hello! Friends happy new month, we are glad and grateful to see another promising new month of the year November 2022. Ok it's my pleasure to partake on this week contest on "my favourite vegetable.

I will be discussing My favourite vegetable, though I actually have other varieties of vegetables that I consume but when it comes to the favourite vegetable, I have only one, so special to me and I can't wait to talk about it here.

Like I started with, I consume some other vegetables leaves such as bitter leaves, okra and so many others but I can't count them as my favourite. This favourite has
to do with those or the vegetable I can never detest not for once. It's like vegetables I can eat as many times as it's ready for eating.

IMG_20221103_114417.jpg

What is that vegetable am dancing across here, it's called fluted pumpkin leaves in English but local language here, we call it "Ugu leave"

I therefore make it known here that my favourite vegetable is Ugu leave (fluted pumpkin leaves).

IMG_20221103_114352.jpg

Fluted pumpkin

Fluted pumpkin otherwise called Ugu (Telfairia occidentalis) is a member of Cucurbiacea family that appears and look like pumpkin itself.

IMG_20221103_114352.jpg
Freshly washed fluted pumpkin

Fluted pumpkin is cultivated by sowing it's seeds, on various points of holes on hips as it's made with sticks or other farm tools.

It is cultivated and does well in the loamy soil, it's a kind of seasonal vegetable, since heavy rainfall disturbs it and makes it grow stunted and the needed value which is the tender leaves-the vegetables and seeds are hindered by rainfall from doing well.

Therefore the best season for the cultivation is during the dry season from October ending to January, the harmattan breeze and the general gold and quiet weather makes it thrive and grow very well.
IMG_20221103_114352.jpg
Freshly washed fluted pumpkin leaves

This period, you can cut the tender leaves as many times as possible and it will replenish not more than 3 days and it's ready for next harvest.

IMG_20221103_114310~2.jpg
Freshly washed fluted pumpkin leaves

Then the plant of fluted pumpkin needed to make seed is specifically enhanced and prepared to cussion it's condition of growing lengthier so as to be able to yield it's fruit containing seeds for the next seasonal cultivation.

And those plant preserved for this purpose of producing seeds are not at all cut of its tender leaves. Instead, sticks are used to support the tendrils so it can comfortably creep up the support and yield as time progresses.

Why I like fluted pumpkin and make it my favourite vegetable.

It is tasty, nutritious to the entire body, the brain, the eye and does the whole lots of body fitness and activeness,
this is out of experience I never wait for an expert to confirm though, I shall discuss the entries of the expert in the course of this writing.

IMG_20221103_114349.jpg

I make soup with fluted pumpkin, cut it in small sizes and joint it with fresh fish, fresh paper and can garnish it with water leave among many other ingredients and this is called vegetable soup.

I use Fluted pumpkin leaves together with a eguisi soup (melon), join it with kpomo (animals hides), cart fish, fresh paper, little fresh tomatoes 🍅 and goat 🐐 meat, and many more ingredients, believe me, you will bite off your fingers.

I use Fluted pumpkin leaves to as well make stew for white rice and it remains absolutely nutritious and tasty.

Fluted pumpkin is my favourite vegetable because it remains harmless, eating it raw or cooked are are all smooth and harmless to the body. This is why many people squeeze it in water, seive out the juice and take them as blood supplement.

I never conceive making special soups without thinking of using fluted pumpkin leaves. It does the whole body repair.

The nutritious value of fluted pumpkin according to the experts.

According to the experts, Part of Fluted pumpkin plant are used in the treatment of malaria, seizures, cardiovascular diseases and anaemia

IMG_20221103_114420.jpg
It is very reach in protein and fat, many research has called fluted pumpkin leaves, blood source vegetable due to it's nutritious value and activeness in the body system.

Fluted pumpkin leaves remained my favourite vegetable whenever I thought of vegetables because it promotes my health and body fitness.

Thank you very much my esteemed friends here I stop on my entries on this contest I want to also invite my very good friends to also partake on the contest @josepha, @chant and @rudylove.

Thank you very much for stopping by.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Fluted Vegetable (Ugwu leaf) is a great source of blood to our body. The vegetable is highly rich when it comes to that expect which make me to like the vegetable for it health benefits.

You have written well about the given topic very well. Best of luck to you.

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Your post has been successfully curated by @nadiaturrina at 30%.

Thank you for your committed efforts, we urge you to do more and keep posting high quality participation.

Loading...

Yeah flutted pumpkin is really good for the body. Those days while growing up I remember how my mom used to squeeze out the juice and the mix it with milk for us to drink, after malaria treatment.

 2 years ago 

I as well, really love to eat leafy veges

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13