"SECS 8 Week 6: How do I want to grow old?"steemCreated with Sketch.

in STEEMIT HEALTHlast year

Greetings folks of the steemit health community. Welcome back for the 6th week of the engagement challenge and welcome to my blog as I share my entry to this week’s challenge.

BC44786B-6372-43C6-AE59-7EDAF2D45354.jpeg
Image designed on Canva.

Growing old at times is good but most often I wish I was still a kid after having a stressful day at work, at home, etc😅😂. I started imagining that if I was still a kid, I would have seat and just cry any time in need of anything. Then my mother or father or sisters will provide for me. How sweet childhood is.

How do you want to age: healthy and energetic or limited and dependent on medication?


Growing old has some life challenges especially if care is not being taken at early age days. Therefore, your state of being in old age is determined by your living style during your youthful age.

It is never a wish for anyone to grow old and dependent on medications. Health challenges may be caused by the living style of youthful age caused by dependent on medications during the ageing period.

My wish is that I should grow healthy and energetic to be able to carry on with some basic activities without being a burden to some family members.

1A12516A-CD70-4B13-8FB7-B3060CFD8AB4.jpeg
Image Source

I do not want to become that old grandma who urinates on herself, defecates on herself and is unable to feed herself. I want to grow old being able to control myself from all such misfortunes.

What are you doing to reach the old age you long for?


There are several things I am doing presently to ensure I grow healthy into my old age. They include but are not limited to; eating healthy, exercising regularly, Drinking enough water and Getting enough rest.

  • Eat healthily: I watched what I eat daily in order not to gain weight. We all know increased weight has some health challenges in old age such as diabetes, high blood pressure, kidney pains, etc. Eating healthy foods such as more fruits and vegetables, avoiding too much consumption of meat, and avoiding taking much alcohol, will make me grow healthy.
  • Exercise Regularly: Doing exercises will help me in old age to be more flexible, and not be sick of certain illnesses. I do exercises daily and this helps to keep me fit.
  • Drink Water Regularly: We all know the adage “water is life”. Drinking water regularly will help to keep my system clean from some illnesses. It will help to clean my kidneys and stay healthy.
  • Rest: This is one of the most vital things I do to ensure I grow healthy. Rest does not necessarily means one should sleep 24 hours a day but each time I have the opportunity to sleep, I ensure I sleep like a baby without bordering myself.

Are you afraid of growing old, yes or no? Justify your answer.


No, I am not scared to grow older because no human being will stay alive forever. We all will one day die. My only fear is that I should not die an untimely death.

Growing old also gives you the room to face new challenges in life, tackle them and one day caution your younger ones of the challenges we passed through growing old.

To me, it is a blessing growing old as you will be able to monitor, mentor and guide younger ones from your experiences growing older.

Do you have any experience to share with us about an older adult who is an example for you to follow?


One of the greatest examples of an ageing person I will like to follow his lifestyle is my maternal grandfather.

He was a man who does not get worried or angry easily. He always stays calm and loved sharing with everyone in need.

Even at his old age of about 115 years, he was a babysitter to his great-grandchildren.

He always listen to the doctor’s advice concerning his health and stopped drinking. He always said that we should eat when it is necessary and not eat because we have seen food.

He promised never to be a burden to any family member in his old age and it come to pass. He died at the age of 115 years without anyone assisting him but rather as a babysitter to his great-grandchildren.

Conclusion.


In summary, growing old is good when one is in good health. Good health cannot be guaranteed if we do not put in efforts to cater for our health by eating healthy food, exercising regularly, resting and drinking enough water daily. Everyone will grow old one day and we can only wish to grow older and healthier. I will use this medium to invite @mesola, @josepha and @janemorane to share their thoughts about growing old.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...

Hello @chant
Yeah, one can live a very beautiful old age by taking good care of his/her young age. It’s matters alot to be very conscious of the things we do and eat during our young age so that we won’t live a difficult old age. Your post is very interesting, i enjoy reading it. Thanks for sharing it with us, wish you success.

It is vital for us to cater for ourselves when young because it will reflect on our old age.

Yeah, we should always care of ourselves very well because the kind of care we give to ourselves when we are young will determine if we will have a strong and healthy old age.

 last year 

Thank you so much for inviting me. Growing old is a blessing that we cannot resist. Living up to 115 years of age or more is very much okay in our present generation. I wish you the best of luck.

It is indeed a blessing growing old and healthy. Thank you for honouring my invite.

I think your maternal grandfather almost set a record when he was 115 years old

He set a record for himself and a lesson for us the grand children to live a healthy life.

this is a great luck!! i'm happy for you!!

 last year 

Waooo growing old is a blessing but not growing old are you can't take care of yourself, I remember one if my friend house I visited, her mother is old and she urinate every where in the house because of that the whole place stinks.

Eating healthy food is what really matters now that we are still young. Thank you dear for the invite

It’s pathetic when you become a burden to your own self at old age.

Hey @wirngo ! i really enjoyed reading your post on how you want to grow old. It's great that you have set goals for yourself to ensure that you age gracefully such as maintaining a healthy lifestyle & keeping your mind active. I love your focus on pursuing your passions & hobbies as they can keep us engaged and fulfilled at any Age . your post is a great reminder that its Never too Early to start thinking about how we want to age and taking small Steps now can have big impact on our future.

Thank you for engaging.

 last year 

What nice thoughts you have shared, getting old is a natural phenomenon and indeed it help us know the experiences that life teaches us with time.
I wish you good luck with the contest friend.
Thanks dear its lovely getting invited by you to the contest, I will try my best to prepare my entry soon.

Thank you for wishing me well and honouring my invite.

What a nice and wonderful thoughts you have shared, getting old is it really helps us know the experiences that life teaches us with time, I wish you all the best in this post.

Thank you 🙏🏽 for the support.

You are welcome

Dear @chant mam
We all want a beautiful and healthy old age where all our needs will be met. You are right ma'am our old age will never be pleasant if we are not guaranteed good health. It is the law of nature that we will all grow old but we need to be sure of our health so that we can spend the old age in good health.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43