Steemit Engagement Challenge Season8 Week1: My learning during the pandemicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in STEEMIT HEALTHlast year

The COVID-19 pandemic- Introduction

Hello everyone and hope we're all doing good today. It's good to be here again to participate in yet another engagement challenge, which features on what happened during the pandemic. The COVID-19 pandemic had great impact in the lives of everyone, every nation and in every household. The pandemic also resulted in lockdowns, travel restrictions, and social distancing measures, which really disrupted our daily lives and caused great economic hardship for lots of people around the world.

In my country Nigeria, citizens could no longer walk around due to restrictions, and this very restrictions caused a lot of people to wallow in hunger.

According to most Nigerians, they say that the COVID-19 pandemic greatly affected their livelihoods. People lost their jobs, businesses were shut down, pay cuts were on people's salaries.

People could no longer socialize. Occasions and celebration were stopped, church and mosque activities were cancelled.
Public schools in my country also went on strike for months. My family also thrived to survive, and we did This wholes effect in just a year
couple-5422795__480.jpg
source: pixabay


What do you consider to be the main lesson you learned from the pandemic?

Well, I learnt how to value what soever I have, and how to respect the lives of everyone. The pandemic clearly showed that no matter who you are, there are always situations that will occur and you'll be in great need of help. This has taught me to be much more repestful, and to value things and lives around me . It has shaped me into a well understanding person, unlike the way I was before. More like knowing the importance of community, of being with people and supporting each other during difficult times.


Did you have any loss of family or friends because of the pandemic? Can you tell us about it?

None. I had none, and I can't remember any of my friends losing a family member during the pandemic. Everyone was indoors and safe, unless for the #EndSars protest that happened later that year(2020) in Nigeria. Lots of Nigerian youths lost their lives, and it was a painful moment for us.


What was the most difficult moment during the pandemic?

The most difficult moment for me and my family then was the fact that we had a little bit of financial issues. I lost my dad not up to a year before the outbreak of the pandemic. Things were rough back then, and my mom who was a trader, taking her palm oil from the south to the north couldn't travel again due to travel restrictions. We had to manage with what we had until she found a way to continue with her business.
woman-6767494__480.jpg
source: pixabay


After all that process, do you value your health more?

Yes. I can say that one good thing the pandemic taught us is how to value our health and make it our too priority. There is this need of being prepared in case of things like this. Valuing our health, keeping everything in place that will make us maintain the status of our well being when outbreaks like this happens.


Did the pandemic impact your finances positively or negatively? How did you cope?

Oh yes it did positively. I can vividly remember that year, 2020. I had the job of doing online lessons for cartoon creation and other art videos. During the process, I was introduced to the world of Cryptocurrency and how it works. I began using my funds then to buy and HODL some of these currencies. Later that year, I was shown this platform to create quality contents and get rewarded by my friend @josepha. My finances were positively impacted.

I got to learn lots of things and I was stable, could pay my bills, and I was able to help with some bill payments at home.

During the pandemic, lost of people began to work online which led to a high usage in online transactions and in the Cryptocurrency world. I used that opportunity to learn lots of things online, invested in lots of coin which later helped I and my family. The pandemic was a blessing in disguise for me. I was able to work with my phone and pay my bills. Based in my statistics, that year was the year I made a lot of money, and all thanks to the pandemic.


Conclusion

The pandemic was really something I will never forget. Lots of things happened that year. It's both a sad and happy time for different people. It was really rough at the beginning for me, but at last, I got to reap from it. This is a good story to tell the next generation. We pray it never happens again.

I'm inviting @wesley11, @offia66, @lilbiz-yl, @julievk and @maxer27.

Sort:  
Loading...
 last year 

You have learned very good thing that we should respect all humans and humans are equal there should be equality between us either someone is rich or someone is poor but we are all humans and there are the situation occurs in our life then we need each other as we have faced this pandemic.

You are one of the lucky people who don't have a loss of life of their loved ones. There are very little number of people who don't remain safe at the time of pandemic.

Yes it's really a hard time when you are in that situation and still you have sufferings in the form of finances so it's very painful for you I can understand the situation that you want to explain in your article.

I wish you a lot of success for participation here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36