Steemit Engagement Challenge season8 week1: my learning challenge during the pandemic

Hello friends,
It’s good to be back for the engagement challenge for season 8. This season’s engagement challenge promises to be an interesting one. This week topic of engagement promises to be a good one as the issue of pandemic really affected every individual and the world at large. Read along as I share my experience.


B9BD2ED1-0E43-4C08-8012-946259E35BF3.jpeg



What do you consider to be the main lesson you learned from the pandemic?

The main lesson the pandemic taught me, is for me to always be prepared. The pandemic came at a time when everyone never expected. For me I thought it was just a regular event that will come, stay for few weeks and everything will go back to normal, but that was not the case. The pandemic came, and even refused to go. Economy, education, finance as well as every other thing that aids human survival was brought to a halt. The pandemic period was really devastating. So far, I have learnt to always be prepared for every situation that might happen, and this preparation includes financially, emotionally, spiritually, psychologically as well as health wise.

Did you have any loss of family or friends because of the pandemic? Can you tell us about it?

I lost a very close friend dear to my heart as a result of the pandemic. She was a healthcare practitioner who died while trying to save others. She died at a time when there was no known cure or preventive measures for the deadly coronavirus. She could not really trace who she could have gotten the virus from. I guess she did not properly observe precautionary measures associated with the prevention of the virus, such as putting on the face mask, using hand sanitizer and many more. She left a huge message/mark before she died, by advising us her loved ones to always follow instructions, care for our health and be safe. I will say she died as a hero while doing her profession. Her memories will never be forgotten.

What was the most difficult moment during the pandemic?

The most difficult moments for me during the pandemic was the issue of lockdown.

In times of crisis, such as an epidemic of an infectious disease, governments often implement lockdowns. During a lockdown, everyone is expected to remain indoors and out of sight, with the exception of those who need to leave the house for essentials like food or medical care. The purpose of these measures is to contain the disease and protect public health.
Although lockdowns may be effective in containing the spread of an infectious disease, they are not without their risks. For instance, lockdowns can have a negative effect on people's mental health and the economy, leading to lost jobs and financial hardships for individuals and businesses. Individual and civil liberties may be compromised during a lockdown.

In all my years of life, I never expected I will be in a situation where I will be restricted of my movement, not just for a day, but for weeks and even months. It was really depressing as I was never prepared for any of that.

After all that process, do you value your health more?

My health is one of my major priorities now. In Nigeria and Africa as a whole we often believe that dirts don’t kill or harm an African man, but that is not true as the pandemic came and showed everyone that it can affect everybody irrespective of age, color, tribe , size or even height. I was a fan of self prescription before the pandemic, but not anymore. When I am sick or observe any symptoms that are questionable, I visit the doctor for check up. I take more fruits and eat foods that are properly cooked. I exercise more and have enough rest to ease stress. Having a good health is key and should be appreciated and valued.

Did the pandemic impact your finances positively or negatively? How did you cope?

The pandemic came and changed everything negatively. It was really a tough time for I and my family, and up until now, we are still struggling to bounce back on our feet. First, I had an extra year in my university as I was suppose to graduate during the year 2020, but I did not, schools were closed and I had to round up 2021. My 2 elder brothers who were the major source of support for the family financially lost their Jobs. We had to feed from hand to mouth. Like that was not enough, my dad became terribly sick and went for two double major surgery. The pandemic was a big blow. In all of the suffering, we ThankGod for life. I was able to sustain my family as well as my fathers health through my income from the business I had then, selling of oil perfumes. After the pandemic, I got introduced to the steemit platform, and the rewards from my post sustained me for the main time until I was so sick, and had to do my major first power down. Well, I am back, healthy and better.

I will like to invite @patjewell @bela90 to join in this contest.

Sort:  

Teaching you how to always be prepared towards anything that may happen tomorrow is nice as we can't predict the future. Best of luck to you.

Sorry for your lost ma'am it very painful to loss someone close to us. The pandemic really took us unaware, but i'm glad it has gone back.

Best regards ❤

 last year 

Hello friend, thank you very much for your entry, certainly this disease caused many changes in our life and the most relevant is the loss of many people, I think that will never be something easy to assimilate. I'm glad you take care of your health and keep that in mind, because without health we have nothing.

I recommend you to always put the source of your images, that is important and on the other hand, do not place so long paragraphs so as not to saturate the publication, a maximum of 6-7 lines is fine.

Greetings and remember to support other users with your vote and comments.

Description❌ ó ✅Score
steemexclusive1/1
Plagiarism Free1/1
BOT Free1/1
Status Club1/1
Voting CSI1/1
Post quality1.5/3
Markdowns2/2
Total:8.5/10
Date of verification:01/03/23

Image.png

image.png

It wasn't easy at all friend, the pandemic came as a surprise to everyone causing a very big blown to most families. Accept my condolences for your lost friend. Thanks for the invitation and best luck.

Thank you for commenting. God help us all

 last year 

Be prepared!
Oh my word, I never gave these two words any thoughts.
You are so right, the pandemic made us aware of what is happening around us and to be prepared.
Always expect the unexpected in life!

Well, I am back, healthy and better.

You go girl! You are a winner!
Thanks for the invite.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40