The Guards Caisson of Arlington National Cemetery

in GLOBAL STEEM3 years ago

The show of color catches my eye as the branches crisscross, making a canopy over my head. Inspiring patterns are made by the sunlight streaming through. Autumn is here and soon, the recurring season will blow into the wind.
So beautiful, yet sad

4HFqJv9qRjVecs4xkhd5EvhidWEEBnn9tCVDBkBhQpUFvab78MhbU1Vshjn2SHrRrcoa8oGvk5n1kh4LnxodDyoQ3vFrF21rbRaH32ioPgDMM9ZUx9RBkU7dhXLmuQqnUW4fJUonKMKAo4bgC31aX9ZhNzHah1CCTg2.jpeg

I can hear the sound coming before I even see it. There is no rush, and there is no slowing down, only the rhythmic sound of six horses, and their hooves - as they pull the caisson. They make their way past me, to the final resting place of the soldier. My heart stops beating and I try to slowly breathe.

That is exactly what I feel like, every time I am here, then make my way home once again, leaving my loved ones behind.

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqWqBbFsdaqqwsC6KAdZQVZBSJiDsJoHBuVaKoJbXsM71eR6Y62x5NRrcd85tZkUJGuhHxQp39aCKV8NeuH78MhbXWTQQGVS63S24o57H38w56pn.jpeg

All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.

Thankyou

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55817.20
ETH 2966.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17