Heading "Handmade" #13/ 2023 | | Coconut Leaflet Snake

in Ukraine on Steemlast year

Untitled (1080 × 650px).png

My click, edited by Canva

Making something with our hands makes us feel the material with our senses, and it has a unique appeal for both the maker and the people who see it afterward.

Thank you, @strecoza, for this contest, which has made me relive my childhood as I made a coconut leaflet snake to participate in here.

The coconut tree is ubiquitous in many parts of the world and my country. The long slender leaves of the tree can be used for many kinds of things, including crafting or making small toys.

IMG_20230409_191137.png

I wanted to make a toy snake which I used to make with my siblings as a child. The materials to make it are very simple.

👉coconut leaf
👉scissors(optional)

I took a few leaflets first. Then I washed and air-dried the leaflets.

Untitled design (1).png

Collage made by Canva

I took the leaflets and separated the blades of the leaflets from the midrib. Be careful while doing it. You do not want the leaf to tear unevenly. After separating the midrib from the leaflet's base to the tip, I cut the bottom of the blades with scissors.

Untitled design (2).png

I have created this collage by Canva

I placed the blades crisscrossed over each other and folded the bottom blade on top of the upper blade. After folding both blades, I put one of the blades over the other to create a pocket. The pocket is essential to secure the ends of the blades, and it would eventually be the head of the snake.

Untitled design (3).png

I have created this collage by Canva

Then I started folding the blades one over the other again.

IMG_20230409_190602.png

I kept folding until I reached the end of the blades toward the tip. At the end, I took a small part of the midrib and secured the ending of the edges. I cut some of the tip portions and discarded the tip to make the blades manageable.

Untitled design.gif
edited by Canva

The snake is now ready.
Look, how cute it looks!

Untitled design (4).png

It can also be maneuvered using the hands.

This simple toy gives so much joy that anyone can make it for free. So, it is like a gift from nature.


Photo Description


Smart PhonePocoX3
CameraPocoX3
Camera ModelpocoX3 macro lens
Photographer@promah


I am inviting
@tasonya
@goodybest
@enrisanti



Upvote.gif

Sort:  
 last year 

7258xSVeJbKkzXhyseBP4PYz11eBDT8sW2oR1a4vfVFS6HqzFtmzjWF15GkzJ4phdM3za1ePkNUFXBoXQTtUAQ2qtKjdbkXiT3WVjVh1wRqNqMCd4SXAmRkviKsJeqgadbJZi7uPJZ9R8.png

 last year 

Цікаво))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47