"My photo memories" contest #22 || The Beauty of Life

AGC_20240504_113858337.PORTRAIT.jpg

One of my personal pictures, where I was exactly very happy and full of emotions was the day I went back to my roots.

Hello friends of Ukraine on steem community, I hope we are all prepared for the week ahead. Having to see the post by @yetaras reminds me of this special day, where I had the opportunity to see my grandmothers.

The beauty in life is that change is constant, everyday we grow and people who were young, grows, age, and definitely dies. After many years, I had the opportunity to go back to my village. It was a special feeling getting to meet my great grandmother who was very excited to see me.

AGC_20240504_110534741.PORTRAIT.jpg

I went over to greet her and I was amazed that her memory is still intact. It was great to see her being strong and healthy. I had a mixed emotion seeing her being very old, I felt a tear coming from being emotional when her frail hands held me but I held it back. I knew she would want to ask what was wrong with me...and I wouldn't have an answer to that.

AGC_20240504_110614662.jpg

My siblings who were also very happy seeing her, took pictures with her too. I was very excited seeing her. We followed her back to the house as she was very excited to see us. She prepared food for us.

I went around the compound which was recently painted. This house was built in 1956 and it is a historic house that has seen the Civil war in Nigeria..infact soldiers camped here during the war. So this place means a lot to me, not because it is ancient but because I was brought up here as a baby. I was weaned as a baby here and it brought a lot of emotions to me. I played in that compound over a decade ago with my friends who were also kids.

AGC_20240504_111511919.PORTRAIT.jpg

I also met my grandmother's friend...when she saw me, she was screaming my name in a fanciful way..she loves calling me with our local accent "A'john John" and it makes me smile all the time.

I had some chat with her and we bidded each other farewell.

When I was about leaving, I took pictures of the compound because I know it might take a while to get back here again.

AGC_20240504_124602616.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg

I had to breathe in all the emotions I had garnered for the day, take another look at the compound I ran around naked.
Looked at the compound I played with my siblings and grandmothers. This feeling of nostalgia means a lot to me. And I will always cherish this moment for forever.

Thanks for this wonderful contest, which has given me the opportunity to go back to this picture memories.

I invite @davidmarkgeorge @imohmitch and @inemesitjustus to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69