KIDS OF THE WORLD.

in Ukraine on Steem2 years ago

It is with much pleasure and honor that I join the kids of the world weekly theme organized by @olesia for the first time, thank you for the opportunity given to also share my experience.

I am a 21 year old boy, no kids of my own yet and even not married yet. But I do have young siblings of my dad, mom and stepmom, and the kid I want to talk about regarding my entry of the theme is my little brother Kasi.

kids of the world.png

Kasi was born last almost two years now, 2020 January. He was born a very little, cute and healthy boy at the hospital, I was at home when I heard the news that my stepmom has delivered safely. It really was a moment filled joy for the whole family, the excitement was unmeasurable. We were even grateful to hear the news that they are expected to be discharged that same day as well, nothing felt comfortable than being discharged from the hospital because everything was alright.

233543961324_status_0abb0d7f58d941c68068be2172da9c83.jpg

They were discharged eventually from the hospital later that day and they came home to us and brought a new member of the family to us, our little baby brother. All seemed well at that time, as part of the Islamic and Dagbani tradition rites, a naming ceremony is to be held seven days after delivery of the child. So my dad started the preparation of the naming ceremony, alas the ceremony came to past on a Sunday. It was a successful one, the next day Monday, a new start of the week and everyone was expected to be busy with work including my dad. I was left with my stepmom and Kasi and awaiting a medic to circumcise Kasi as part of the teachings of the Islamic religion. My dad couldn’t wait because he had to leave for work, so I was assign to take his place since I didn’t have anywhere going that time.

The medic came in the morning and started the process of circumcision, a very intense painful process every circumcision is. My stepmom couldn’t stand to hold Kasi whilst he was crying in that pain so I had to come and hold him and she stepped out of the room, it seems I could feel the pain that my little brother was experiencing. The cry of new born child can actually be sorrowful I thought to myself, and I could only wish and hope the process ends fast so he would be relieved. The process was finally over, but my little brother wouldn’t stop crying. The medic told us to contact him if we had any problems with him later and assured he will stop crying eventually. About ten minutes past and Kasi was still crying, we were getting really worried. He wouldn’t even stop crying to feed from the breast milk of his mom.

I had to call the medic again because we were getting really worried, his voice was almost like it fading off and his breathing had stopped. I couldn’t wait for the medic to get to us so I told my mom to grab Kasi and we rushed him to nearest hospital. I sent us straight to the pediatric unit on my motor bike when we got to the hospital, the nurses attended to us as quickly as possible. Kasi was put on an oxygen support in the ward, the doctor attending to him told us it was a good thing we rushed him to the hospital, because his condition would have been even more life threatening and critical had we wasted any much time.

His situation was as a result of a short of breath due to his excessive crying from the pain of the circumcision. We were admitted at the hospital for three days, within which he had to be fed with a bottle feeder containing breast milk extracted from his mother. It was a difficult way of getting him to feed, but we had to be patient about it and not rush him. He eventually recovered and regained his sucking, rooting, and grasp reflex, and was able to feed on his own without the aid of the bottle feeder. Those three days at the hospital were really hard time to watch him.

He was still quiet than usual and wouldn’t even cry again for some weeks, but he eventually came back normal and became a very active and vibrant child again. He has been my best friend and brother any time that I’m at home from vacations, I hardly go anywhere without him crying to join me go out. Especially when I take out the motor bike for a ride outside, I either have to let him tag along or give him a short ride before he would be satisfied.

IMG_20220416_085844_6.jpg

IMG_20220909_180344_5 (1).jpg

IMG_20221007_084014_9.jpg

My mom says his obsession with riding the motor bike could be for the fact that it is that same motor bike that brought him for rescue, but I think he is just a brave boy now looking that his colleagues at the same age are even afraid of the motor bike. If you check on some my post on #steemkidss, you’ll see him mostly tag along with me, he’s like my best man now.

IMG_20211111_062737_9.jpg

IMG_20220416_085853_0.jpg

Thank you all for reading, and I wish you all the best. And let us continue to be good models for kids, for truly kids are the future of this world. It has been lovely and interesting reading some of the publications posted already.

I invite @juzkid my country representative to join this contest organized by @olesia, here is the link to the contest:

START "Kids of the world" by @olesia | Week №61

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

Ой боже, бедный малыш, столько натерпелся боли. Неужели медики на живую режут обрезание? Ведь медицина сейчас развита. Например есть крем, который после нанесения на кожу делает процесс как анестезия, обезболивает... Ужас. Спасибо за участие. Я бы наверное не смогла моему ребенку сделать обрезание, тем самым наплевав на эти обычаи.

Perhaps those medicinal creams aren't easy get here or they don't even have them, but circumcision do have it's merits. I'll urge you to please look at them, it is really important.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44