"My photo memories" contest #7

in Ukraine on Steem7 months ago

@yetaras thank you for organising such a wonderful contest of photo memory. I would also think you for the clarification.

In the year 1978 my elder sister and her husband along with their friend and his wife planned to go to Darjeeling in the Himalayas.

I eagerly enquired about their itinerary and other details. I also showed my keen interest about the place as it is considered as one of the best hill station of India. It was established on July 1850 as the oldest municipality wilh ten wards. On the day before their departure they invited me to join.

I remember it was very exciting to catch the night train from Sealdah and reached New Jalpaiguri next day morning.

We availed toy train which is now UN heritage train. The journey on toy train is unparalleled to any other train journey. The sound of locomotive and steam engine whistle still resonating in my ear. It was over crowded, there were no reservations of seats.

The jig jag track inside the jungle in mountain terrain was ever evolving new views on every turn and bent. The smell of pine tree moss with sound of water falls along the journey was unbelievable.

It was very slow train so with the local I also jumped on the road from running train.

Reaching any platform like Kalimpong, Ghum station at highest altitude of the world was fascinating.

Batasia Loop is a most famous spot on the way because the train revolves on 360° track to gain altitude. In between many tea plantation were seen from the train. We reached Darjeeling almost in the evening.

They took a hotel near mall. We had to climb many stairs to reach the room.

In the evening we went to mall and enjoyed a walk on the mall road. There we had alu parata with tomato sauce. We returned hotel.

IMG-20240311-WA0009.jpg

Next day morning we went to Ghum station at the Sunrise point to see reflection of light on mountain Kanchanjanga. Unfortunately it was foggy day. On the way we visited places like Zoo, Himalayan Mountaineering Institute and Tibetan refugees camp.

IMG-20240311-WA0008.jpgMe sitting in the middle beside my sister in-law and my sister, my brother in-law and his friend standing with guide in the middle.

Next day we went to Mirik Lake. At that time there was nothing other than a Government restaurant where we had our launch with noddles. While returning we visited Pashupati Nath market in Nepal. The market was famous for imported goods. Everyone bought at least a folded umbrella. There were many electronic items like sound system, Jwellery and household items.

IMG-20240311-WA0007.jpg me with friend of my brother in-law beside Mirik Lake

Next day we returned to Kolkata.

I would have not visited the place till now if didn't go on the trip.

Thank you for reading my post.

@impersonal

All photos taken by Agfa click III 120mm viewfinder camara. Collected from my sister.

Sort:  
 7 months ago 

Really interesting story, thank you for sharing

Thank for visiting My post.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61830.18
ETH 2457.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54