Again and again: Silent Movie

in Ukraine on Steem2 months ago

image.png

Ok, this is my favorite all time movie. I have watched it way over 10 times. I find it is just funny, you know a whole movie based on the concept that their is no talking only miming, and the only one who eventually does talk is the real mime, Marcel Marceau. The movie is about a movie director (Mel Brooks) who has this brilliant idea of producing a silent movie, the idea is not too well accepted by the studio, so he is made to look for top talents for the cast. The plot thickens when a rival and monstruos company that wants to take over Hollywood decides to destroy the movie, fittingly the company is named Engulf and Devour, the way they do it is by employing a beautiful woman to entrap Mel. Of course he falls for it, finds out she is faking her love, he goes on a drinking spree but eventually he gets out of it, finishes the movie and it is a complete hit. The movie company that backed Mel was in dire straits and the movie saves them. Complete happy ending.

Now the first time I saw it something funny happened. We went to the local movie, a bunch of friends with their sisters, including a young girl cousin who was about ten. When the rival company is planning to destroy Mel they have a presentation at their meeting room and show pictures of the beautiful woman hired to ensnare Mel, very revealing pictures. All of a sudden the table starts rising, because all of the men got an erection from seeing that beautiful woman. We were all laughing about that when all of a sudden the ten year old girl asked "Why did that table rise"? That is plain innocence.

The following year I went to Tegucigalpa, the capital to the University, and they were showing this movie at a theater called Palace-Lido, these were two movie halls in the same quite old building, one was larger and not on an incline, the other was small. Well Silent Movie was in Palace the larger one. I went to see it twice and a week later I found out that day was the last day they were showing it, so I decided to see it a third time. I bought my ticket and took a seat in a row that had about twelve seats, I sat in the middle. As luck would have it, the remaining seats were taken by some very pretty high school girls.

The thing is, they started showing next weeks movie shorts and eventually they started showing Zombie 2 shorts. or so I thought. In reality they had changed, Silent Movie was in the other theater. Now I don't like Zombies, they scare the shit out of me. But I was trapped, I just couldn't leave because those girls would have dissected me. And look, in the most scary parts, those girls, I think on purpose would hug me, touch me, and rub up on me. I could not answer their obvious attempts because I was holding on real tight to the chairs arms so as not to jump. Those are some of the worst two hours I have ever lived.

Still I did get to see Silent Movie a few more times over the years. I lost interest in it, when I looked at it on You Tube with my son and daughter and both of them told me they saw nothing funny about it. I guess we just had different sense of humor back then.

Is "favorite movie" and "movie I'll watch again and again" the same thing? i guess so, because a movie I just like I might watch twice, no more. But actually I have over 15 years of not watching movies, they bore me nowadays.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

I enjoyed the movie review and plan to watch the movie. Thank you for sharing the review with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66431.69
ETH 3459.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60