Heading "Handmade" #31/ 2023 - Hand made wooden key holder

in Ukraine on Steem9 months ago

Hello everyone,

Thank you for reading my contest about the handmade wooden key holder and special thanks to #Ukraine on Steem. I am from a business-oriented family and my father has a timber business and we are living in a country side village in Sri Lanka. Since my childhood, I have a good relationship with trees and I have an idea about the usages of different trees. As an example, what are the best timbers for furniture or which timber has the more durability.
One day, I went to my father’s land to bring some wood shoots and there I saw a ‘Acacia’ tree which was cut from an unknown person. The Acacia is a one of hardest tree in Sri Lanka and it is not a native tree. But the tree is using for various wood working such as, furniture, handmade wooden items, firewood and so on. Once I saw the tree, I just thought that I can do some wood work using this and decided to bring it to the home by our truck. And, it was kept at our home without doing anything for few weeks.

IMG_3227.JPG

IMG_3129.JPG

I had a holiday in the weekend after few weeks, and I decided to stay at home on that day. We have several keys (vehicle, motor cycle, and door keys) in our house, and there was no proper place to keep them. So, I decided to make some key holder by using acacia wood shoot. As the first step I cut few wood logs with the help one of my friend and the width of the one log was about 2 inches and the log diameter is 8 inches.

IMG_E9222.JPG

IMG_E9221.JPG

Then I kept the wood logs in our garden to dry for two-three days. For that process my mother and father helped me a lot. Again I had a free time and I bought some sand papers, wood protector, sealer, and varnish, and hooks to finish my work. First of all, I grinded the both sides of wood logs using 120 size sand paper and then again grinded using 300 size sand paper. Then cleaned the wood logs and apply wood protector, then kept about 30 minutes to dry and applied sealer before apply the varnish using a paint brush. The sealer applied wood logs kept under the sunlight for few hours to dry. Then using a nail, I marked the places on a wood log to fix hooks. And in the back side of the wood log, I attached a hanger to hand it on a wall.
Finally, the product was so good and it has a great appearance, and it proved by my family and relations who saw the item. The total cost of the product was about 1000 lkr (3.2$) and we can’t buy this kind of quality product from the Sri Lanka market.
Thank you again and cheers!

Sort:  

Hi friend @donchan love the work you did. The key holder turned out very nice and original. Congratulations and success in the contest.

Hi @nexcis thank you for your great comment. much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52