Culinary contest // Appetizing porridge wateryam 🍲

in Ukraine on Steem7 days ago

IMG20240909173904.jpg

Hello my dear fellow steemians! Participating in this contest is one of the greatest things I did today. I really appreciate you all as you are willing to hear my opinion and read my different step of preparing my wateryam porridge.

Here in Nigeria, we are richly blessed by different cuisines and one of them is wateryam. I believe that many people around the globe knows it and also have a taste of it before. Wateryam is a tropical tuber crop, that comes with different sizes and colours, lt contains about 75 % of water and 25 % of starch.

There are several method of preparing wateryam but 80% Nigerians prefer using it to prepare one of our local delicacies called (Ekpang Nkukwo)... because of it texture. Nevertheless, others prefer boiling, drying, roasting and porridge.

If wrap with any edible leaf like soft cocoa yam's or any other vegetables, that would make it EKPANG NKUKWO. But I choose to prepare it in simple way because of time.

If you are in my country... Nigeria... you will agree with me that economy here is very though because of high cost of every things in the market. So I decided to use few ingredients and prepare my meal.

IMG20240909163848.jpgMis en place

INGREDIENTS

  • One wateryam
  • Dry fish(bonga fish)
  • Crayfish
  • Palm oil
  • Salt
  • Onions
  • Pepper
  • Vegetables leafs
  • Seasoning cubes.

Pre- preperation started by washing the require ingredients, pound crayfish and the bonga fish and kept everything in one place to help me not to forget any.

IMG20240909151642.jpg


Now welcome to my Preparation:


I started using a knife to scrape off the thin black membrane that covers the the water yam. l wash it and cut it into smaller sizes.

IMG20240909151619.jpg


IMG20240909152342.jpg


Since we're cooking as porridge, l wash a clean pot and put it on the fire, l added the desirable quantity of water.

IMG20240909164813.jpg


I allowed the water to boil very well before I added some of the ingredients like periwinkle, Palm oil and crayfish.

IMG20240909165347.jpg


I use a spoon and scoop the wateryam puree in small lumps into the pot, after which l allow it to cooked for 10minute without putting spoon. This will help the lumps to be firm.

IMG20240909170401.jpg


After that, I use a Sharp knife and cut the lumps into very tiny piece and then added the sliced vegetables leafs, and a measurable quantity of salt as the last thing to add and I turned it gently to have everything mixed together.

IMG20240909172422.jpg

IMG20240909172701.jpg


After like two minutes, l put my pot down from cooker and then dished a portion for myself.

IMG20240909173803.jpg

IMG20240909173904.jpg

I choose this meal because it is soft and easily consumed by my daughter.

The meal always so delicious and is a well-balanced one which contains all necessary nutrients. Wateryam porridge is included as healthy meals, which helps in boosting our immunities, lowering blood cholesterol, aid in proper Weight management. Wateryam meals is very rich in fiber and contains anti-oxidant property which helps in fast reduction of body inflammation.

This meal can be served at any time of the day, but I enjoys it more as a dinner. Have you ever try making this recipe this way? I enjoyed it so much, so I would encourage you to give a try and you will enjoy it too.

I would like to invite @pea7,@dove11 ,@yancar @eliany, and @josepha to share their culinary contest with us.

ABOUT MYSELF
Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Your step by step preparation of this meal is explanatory and is easy to prepare. Thank you for sharing, the food looks yummy and it health benefits are numerous. It is a healthy meal my family need this once in a while.

I'm wishing you success 👍

Thanks so much for commenting on my post .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49