Alternative Weekend: Unconvincing Artists

in Alternative Weekend4 years ago

It’s Saturday, well almost… and that means weekend and that means Alternative Weekend again!

Yet another chance for me to post on my community of almost ONE, where few dare to look and fewer click the links.
NEW_alternative112226_960_720.jpg
RedLine.png

Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are progressive, punk, metal, goth or alternative, just NOT mainstream.

There are no other rules, just make your own!

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us.

Simply posting links won’t get you anywhere in terms of votes or rewards.

Be creative, let us know what this or that song reminds you of, who the band is trying to plagiarise, why you think they should be more popular or why you want to shag the hot vocalist.

And if you desire to use the Alternative Weekend Community DURING the week as you simply cannot wait, then do so. The name is simply a legacy of the old days.

This weekend I present you with THREE artists I'm unconvinced about, but the individual songs are decent. I like to explore a band or artists' back catalog, but that doesn't always work.

RedLine.png


smal_16642illustrationofanelectricguitarpv.jpg

My Bloody Valentine – Only Shallow (Loveless – 1991)

I missed My Bloody Valentine the first time around which would have been around 1991. Maybe they were too underground for me to notice, me being a more mainstream kind of guy then.

My_Bloody_Valentine_2009.05.29_003.jpg
Source

'Only Shallow' did attract some attention in the United States but failed to make an impact over here (the UK). The vocal holds my attention but the album it originates from failed to captivate me.

Call me strange but I have a thing for monotony combined with female vocalists who strum guitars pretending to be zombies.

RedLine.png


smal_16642illustrationofanelectricguitarpv.jpg

The Strokes – Soma (This Is It – 2001)


Here’s another band that have yet to convince me of their great musical abilities.

This Is It’ is supposed to be their pinnacle of music creativeness but despite many listens, only Soma sticks out. Is it the melancholy undertone that does it? perhaps.

The_Strokes_by_Roger_Woolman.jpg
Source

Their music comprises of quite short tracks, but not mainstream by my ears.

Why does he sound like the dude from the Buggles, Video Killed the Radio Star anyone, or is it just me?

RedLine.png


smal_16642illustrationofanelectricguitarpv.jpg

Riverside – Second Life Syndrome (Second Life Syndrome – 2005)

After the first two rather lightweight songs, I thought I had better add something with a little more meat. Around 15 minutes is what I would call substance.

Riverside; everyone in the prog world seems to rave about them but again I’m not hearing most of it, just some of this track.

There’s some Pink Floyd in there but on the heavier side at times. Around 6 minutes in there’s a decent section but it doesn’t last.

Riverside_band_9.jpg
Source

Parts of Second Life Syndrome (the album) are really good and yet other parts I find bland. This is proper prog and @steevc will likely have heard of this band and other songs from their library.

Maybe I will have to resort to the auto-play thing again and hope something settles into my brain.

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

  • Earn Passive Manna by simply signing up for it here. Mannabase is a Universal Basic Income Cryptocurrency
  • Earn STEEM and digital cards while playing STEEM Monsters, the best game on the STEEM Blockchain here.
  • Earn JSECoin buy simply creating an account and Mine while you browse here

line.jpg

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I saw the Strokes in concert when they were first getting popular. The opened for the White Stripes down in Detroit. It was a great show. Besides "Last Night" I can't really say as though I enjoy much of their songs.

I don't even know that track, though it may be on 'This Is It'.

I have a thing for monotony combined with female vocalists who strum guitars pretending to be zombies.

Lol, me too!

There's not many around, we need more My Bloody Valentine's I say!

These days we certainly do!

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.553 which ranks you at #1285 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 64 places in the last three days (old rank 1349).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 68 contributions, your post is ranked at #8.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46