Wolf Alice – A Current Alternative Band that are actually good...

in Alternative Weekend4 years ago

I don’t like most current music. I find it bland boring and samey, is that last one a real word? Perhaps it’s because I’m getting old and the new sounds just don’t resonate with me.

IMG_1304.JPG

However, I still try and find something I like, and one band I found in the last six months was Wolf Alice. Yes, they are current, amazing!

As usual it took a while for the ‘nut to crack’ (see this article for an explanation of my curse, but the first song that got my attention was ‘Fluffy’. They have a great sense of humour too. Watch the video and you will see why.

As I work away and nights tend to be dull I decided to go and see them live at the Newcastle O2 Academy last November. I dragged along a work colleague who also shares the boring evening tedium as he’s in the same situation as me.

What I want to say is the acoustics are terrible at the venue; don’t go because it doesn’t do your band justice. I felt sorry for Ellie Rowsell and her compatriots who were trying to entertain. What I heard was mostly distortion and barely any distinguishable vocals.

That’s not to take anything away from the band. They have talent, are firmly in the alternative section, are very rocky and write their own material.

With only two albums released so far, they don’t have masses of material to pile through and I feel they are changing their style like all good artists do to keep us interested.

I always get a t-shirt from gigs, they are very often exclusive to the tour and hard to find anywhere else. This one was no exception!

IMG_1302.JPG

Wolf Alice information can be found at Wikipedia:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wolf_Alice

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

  • Earn Passive Manna by simply signing up for it here. Mannabase is a Universal Basic Income Cryptocurrency
  • Earn STEEM and digital cards while playing STEEM Monsters, the best game on the STEEM Blockchain here.

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49