Lengthening my Patience; Becoming an instant Teacher to a co- worker

in Beauty of Creativity4 days ago

Being an educator is never easy and that is why I never wanted to become one when pursuing a course for my future career.

I salute all teachers in the world!

But everyone seems to be destined to become a teacher, parents teaches their children like my mum do, not only in school but in all aspects of life. In my instance, me teaching my co-worker.

It's not my first time teaching; most of my work has to do with Microsoft excel application and numbers. Some people think it's very hard, even I thought it at first but as I went on, I got used to it, I familiarized it even more and it became easy for me to do my daily tasks for billing. Yet all that went to waste when the manager trusted someone to look for the raw mats inventory and was not able to foresee that during one night in production, something would run out and would cause halting of the production.


Lately, as an animal feed producing plant, our raw mats consumption has dramatically increased due to the opening of another line causing for some raw materials to run out while still on production and it happened at 3am and no one could call the purchaser for an additional supply.

Because of that, the manager was alarm lee and asked me if I was using the Excel program he had back then and I said yes and then asked me to teach donmads, one of the fork lift operator that was assigned in the pouring area.

Of course I said yes, and the teaching began on Tuesday, July 23, exactly 1 week today. He was on a night shift at that time and he had to come early for some mentoring.

A stolen snap of donmads working in my PC

The manager is showing him some of his excel skills

A snap of what he had been working with

Donmads was very tense, he had trouble working with the mouse, probably because he had been on hard job for long and his computer experience were little back in his college days.

The work is easy but one has to familiarize what file he should open since we had to open 8 excel files load es and locked with formulas to work and give us almost live update on the raw mats status.

He is fast to catch but easily forgets, probably because he only handles the PC for 2 hours a day.

I even teased him that he would be dreaming of the Excel work and only laughed at me but when I asked him if he really did, he said yes. Well I did too back when I was still learning this.

What makes the program complicated is that we had to copy and paste values so the formula won't be ruined. I've taught him tricks and shortcuts but I guess he is still learning and will come to it soon.

For now, I made him do simple tasks but he already saw the importance of the program and the most important is that he is willing to learn and keeps on trying.


Since the manager mentioned about going live on our raw mats, I suggested I would run an inventory count that Sunday and I did; and I might be going live tomorrow l. RM input is always 1day late though yet at least it would be as near as the actual inventory and I will be able to notify them for possible critical level inventory..

For now, my mentoring wills till continue until he gets familiar with the program. He still keeps forgetting, what to do but I am willing to lengthen my patience because I've been there where I don't know anything about excel.

For now I planned on mastering my work I the hope that I will be able to handle planning one day and that would be one of the highest achievement that I would be able to get and of course also hoping that it would increase my income and that would be possible.

In life we continue learning and it's never too late to learn because eventually, everyone has begun with nothing. I hope I'd be very patient and kind to whom I mentoring today and that he will be able to learn something valuable from me.



Life is a roller coaster of happiness, excitement and disappointments but despite all that, always have the source of happiness from the people and things that you love!


This will be all for today, thanks you for your never ending support always!

All text and images are mine

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 3 days ago 

So cute...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48