Beauty that lies around || “10% beneficiary to @beautycreativity”

in Beauty of Creativitylast year (edited)

Untitled (1080 × 1000px).png

Photo-collage of my captures created by Canva

“I have traveled far and wide
And have spent a lot to see the unseen
I saw the mountains
And have seen the Indus
But I never realized,
Where I live
There I can see-
A dewdrop on a paddy!”
-Rabindranath Tagore(translated from Bangla)

The above lines are a rough translation by me of a famous poem by Rabindranath Tagore. In these verses, he regrets not realizing what a small yet beautiful thing happens daily outside his home.

I also learned today how insanely beautiful things are lying outside my home. I also noticed the petite beauty lying around me after a long time. The flowers growing close to the soil with the grasses seemed like things of the past that got lost in my childhood until today.

Remembering childhood

IMG_20230408_145756.jpg

Leucas aspera

The first flower I saw today and remember from childhood is Leucas aspera. It is commonly called Thumbai or Thumba. There are various names for this plant in different regions of Bangladesh. Such as: Shetadron, dhulfi, dondokolosh, dulpi saak etc. In some places, its leaves are eaten as a vegetable.

However, I have yet to taste the leaves. But as a child, I used to pick the flowers and suck the honey from the flower stems. It tasted so sweet that we children used to call it “honey flower.” It was a treat during our playtime as we adventured through the bushes of the wild.

I remembered all those joyous moments when I saw it today and thought of the poem by Rabindranath that I mentioned earlier. Then I looked around and saw more beauties waiting to be discovered.

Star-like yellow beauty

IMG_20230408_150111.jpg

Youngia japonica

The next thing I found today is a Youngia japonica plant. The plant is commonly called Oriental false hawksbeard. I searched for its Bangla name, but surprisingly, the internet says there is none! It is such a common flower that probably blooms everywhere in Bangladesh, but there is no Bangla name on the internet!

These daisy-like flowers resemble little yellow stars blooming in the green meadow. Hence, I feel like calling these “Holdey Tara,” which translates as ‘yellow star.’ My fellow Steemians, if you know any local Bangla names for it, please let me know in the comment section.

Celestial joy

IMG_20230408_150850.jpg

Dentella repens

As I was walking towards my home, just outside my door, there was a patch of grass, and there I saw little white flowers of Dentella repens smiling at me. Locally, these flowers are called ‘Vumipaat Ful,’ which roughly translates as “flowers that lay on the soil.” However, these are commonly called 'creeping lickstoop' or 'creeping Dentella' worldwide.

Indeed, I felt delighted to remember my childhood memories when I saw these flowers. Despite the happiness I felt when I played with these flowers with my childhood peers or when I looked at nature as a child, I used to feel a celestial joy that is missing now. As I entered my home, I remembered the famous lines of the poet William Wordsworth-

“There was a time when meadow, grove, and stream,
The earth, and every common sight,
To me did seem
Apparelled in celestial light,
The glory and the freshness of a dream.
It is not now as it hath been of yore;—Source

Photo Description


Smart PhonePocoX3
CameraPocoX3
Camera ModelpocoX3 macro lens
Photographer@promah

CC: dear @patjewell,
I hope to hear from you if you see any improvement in my writing. Also, thank you for the links you provided me earlier. Your write-ups inspired me so much, and I learned a lot.

Upvote.gif

Sort:  

Very nice my friend. Well done!! 👏

The only thing is that you must break up your paragraphs more. This will allow for easier reading.

image.png

 last year 

Thank you dear @patjewell. It really is better as a reader if it is broken into smaller sections. I am going to edit this post, and I will try to remember this in future. You explain about writing in such an easy manner with example, that I did not get from my teachers. Take love 💚

Oh wow! What a difference to your post.
Not only does it read easier but it also looks so much neater.
Well done! 🎕

 last year 

It totally does! I am also amazed by the difference as I read it after the edit. Thank you so much!

The pleasure is all mine!

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

Wow, beautiful different type of flowers photography you shared with us.

 last year 

I am glad you liked it @ahp93

 last year 

আজকেও দেখছি বেশ চমৎকার ফটোগ্রাফি শেয়ার করলেন। আপনার ফটোগ্রাফি গুলো আমার কাছে সব সময় ভালো লাগে

 last year 

আপনি আমার পোস্টগুলো খেয়াল করেছেন জেনে অনেক ভালো লাগছে। অনেক ধন্যবাদ। সাথে থাকবেন এভাবেই।

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67334.81
ETH 3235.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64