Palmetto Weevil | 10% to shy-fox

in Beauty of Creativity2 years ago

I finally found the real name of this beetle, that is Palmetto Weevil, another species of beetle that threw me back to my childhood. I used to hunt them down in the lawn, when they were got caught, I played with them. I thankfully found it again since many years back, I did see such a weevil around the wood. Once considered a minor pest attacking only severely wounded or dying palms, this devastating insect is now known to attack freshly transplanted palms, palms under stress and healthy palms as well.

To be honest, that was my first time seeing this tiny insect with little spikes on its body. So I decided to follow its way while taking pictures. Due to this beetle has big size that allowed me to take these pictures with DSLR. Likely most insects, this beetle was also quite active during the daylight and love to play hide and seek with me. After all, I finally managed to have its pictures.

Weevils are a family of beetle that have their mandibles at the end of a, sometimes, very long rostrum (a snoutlike projection of the head). In fact, the rostrum of some weevils (i.e., nut weevils) is as long as their bodies.source


_AHW6813.jpg

_AHW6807.jpg

_AHW6811.jpg

_AHW6819.jpg

_AHW6816.jpg


CameraNikon D7000
LensTamron Tele-Macro 70-300
Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I am impressed with your photographs. I see this insect after a long time. Also you captured and displayed this with It's own property.

 2 years ago 

Hope brother, are you well? I am very impressed with your moth micro photography. It's been great. Every photograph has been shown to us in a great way. Actually doing this kind of photography requires a lot of time and patience. Thank you very much.

Hello brother. How are you? Can you add me on your fanbase list?

 2 years ago 

Wonderful brother. How are u? I have been trying to add u on my fanbase list, but the steemauto seems not really work by steem name, it showed up wox. I dont have idea since when the steemauto is run by wox which made a bit hesitate to log in it.

Thank you brother. I use https://worldofxpilar.com/dash.php for a year. I dont have any problem.

 2 years ago 

No problem brother.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64373.04
ETH 2775.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66