Limestone Tiger Beetle on River Rock

in Beauty of Creativity2 months ago

As I went out to find the macro object, I finally found this tiger beetle (Cicindelidia obsoleta vulturina) was flying fast around river rocks while making a quick stop on it. So, I had to use my DSLR to take this small unique beetle because I never got a chance to get closer to it. As the name suggests tiger beetles are known for their aggressive predatory habits and ability to run fast to catch prey. Tiger beetles usually have large eyes for spotting and tracking prey, long, slender legs that make them very fast and large curved mandibles to catch and hold prey that is sometimes larger than they are. They are predatory, both as adults and as larvae. Since it is a fast flayer and never be steady at one place, I had to rush taking its photos or otherwise I would get nothing. Anyway, I got its body shots and that is fine as long as I can admire this creature that always attract me with its shiny appearance. Known as tiger beetle that usually seen playing around the ground or rocks. Through its appearance, we can clearly see that this tiger moth has black wings and a yellow spot with black stripes on its back and two soft black antennae make this moth look more beautiful while the thorax is primarily dominated by a yellow band and the abdomen is banded with yellow and black stripes.


_AHW0954.jpg

_AHW0943.jpg

_AHW0953.jpg


CameraNikon D7000
LensTamron Tele-Macro 70-300

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40