Insecta: Crown Wasp (Stephanidae)

in Beauty of Creativity4 months ago

I got to say that was my first time finding this insect. I did not expect I found it around the meadow as it was a very small insect which troubled me to see clearly. However, I had to make sure about what insect I just took. After taking a shot, I was surprised to see this creature with a unique look. Wondering about its name, I come across the internet and it appears to be called Crown Wasp (Stephanidae), belongs to family of parasitoid wasps that only living members of the superfamily Stephanoidea that usually found in meadow or bush. This wasp has unique body structure with orange/brown part to the left is the head, to the right of that the thorax with the wings attached, and the part sticking up into the air is the abdomen, making up the three major segments of an insect. It has modified antennae that tap the rotten wood and specialized ears on their legs that can hear the tap’s echo off of a larva and locate it that way.


IMG_20240301_154216.jpg

IMG_20240301_154148.jpg

IMG_20240301_154051.jpg

IMG_20240301_154102.jpg


CameraSmartphone
CategoryMacrophotography
LensLensbong Macro/Modified Macro lens
Sort:  
 4 months ago 

Wow, this is truly an extraordinary image capture.

 4 months ago 

Wow, the body structure of this wasp is unique and special. Thank you for sharing these stunning clicks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44