Bee Fly (Ligyra tantalus )

in Beauty of Creativity2 months ago

To be honest, I dont see a bee fly (Ligyra tantalus) much around. It was only single bee fly was spotted there which is also known as solitary fly. It does not like to hang up in group, preferred to be alone wandering around. So, when I was about to leave the hunting spot due to the dark, I noticed this bee fly darting over wild plant. It has an orange and brown thorax and a black abdomen with a white ring and four spots on it, although the rearmost two spots can be joined together in some specimens. By the time I spot it made a quick stop on wild flower, I managed to take shots with my DSLR from distance range. Then, soon I finished a few clicks, it flew away, in the next minutes it came back again. Sometimes I failed to catch but some other time I successfully captured them. While being on the shot, I never thought that they would sting me, and thank for being friendly with me. There are many types of bees around here, and I think this bee is more friendly than others. Indeed, I had to spend much time hunting and waiting for them to calm, that was the efforts to gain better results. Chasing these critters is hard work, especially under a hot sun. Indeed, a day of hard core photographing bugs is a great workout incorporating weight lifting, tai chi, patience, and maintaining awkward body postures for long minutes at a time.


_AHW5125.jpg

_AHW5135.jpg

_AHW5137.jpg

_AHW5133.jpg


CameraNikon D7000
CategoryInsect Photography
LensTamron Tele-Macro 70-300
Sort:  
 2 months ago 

wow, what a great shoot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51