A Hoverfly Resting on the Leaf | 10% Beneficiary to shy-fox

in Beauty of Creativity2 years ago (edited)

I am coming back with some pics of hoverfly that I found around the bushes near the stream. As I mostly did on macro when I got to shoot the little thing, I managed to focus on the front look. It clearly show us the yellow that covers all over its head and the dark brown eyes were ready to welcome me. I moved to the backside where I could compare the different look of its whole body. Perhaps, it took a rest on this leaf. It is a small, orange, and black banded with red eyes hoverfly and is widespread and very common. As may all know that hoverflies are regarded as useful insects in the gardens, including this one, feed on aphids.

Just like other hoverflies, this hoverfly also feeds on nectar, pollen and the larvae are a predator of aphids to help control the population. The marmalade fly can be identified by its orange body with a thick and thin black band across it. I expected I would find many hoverflies around but as far as I noticed I only saw this one which took me some time to take photos as it moved quite a lot and I determined to hunt it down until I got what I wanted, that was the pictures from different angles.

To get these pictures, I had to follow its way and when I saw it was about to land, I took its photos in rush. The marmalade fly stays under the family Syrphidae, in the genus Episyrphus.


_AHW3815.jpg

_AHW3816.jpg

_AHW3817.jpg

_AHW3811.jpg

_AHW3814.jpg


CameraNikon D7000
CategoryInsect Photography
LensTamron Tele-Macro 70-300
Sort:  
 2 years ago 

How did you come up with this great photo

 2 years ago 

you took the kalat picture so well

 2 years ago 

Wow, actually that was super small insect. But you can take it very nice, good job chief. 👍

 2 years ago 

Has done great photography. Undoubtedly you are a skilled photographer. I'm really impressed with your photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48