Contest : Tell me what you want to learn? | @sakura1012 | 04-05-2021

in Steemit Nursery3 years ago (edited)

taco-3159245_1920.jpg

Cooking is all about people. Food is maybe the only universal thing that really has the power to bring everyone together. No matter what culture, everywhere around the world, people get together to eat.

Guy Fieri

As a kid and up until now, my Mom usually does all the cooking. I consider eating as one of the best pleasures in life because of how delicious my Mom's home cooked meals are. They are truly a delight! However as I mature and become an adult, I realized that I should practice living on my own and part of that is taking care of myself. I realized that cooking does many wonders and it includes how it makes families together and how it could make someone independent and fully equipped with what life has to offer. If you can cook, you can actually do anything.


Cooking is part of adulting, I believe its time for me to give my fair share into the adulting world. I think I should stand on my own and prep my own meals. This maybe a starting ground for me to mature not only in doing basic household chores like cooking but also in being an independent woman who can make the impossible happen and by making correct life choices. I am proud to be a career woman but I believe that I would be prouder if I could be a career woman that can actually cooks!

My Top 3 Reasons Why Cooking is Interesting & An Avenue for Self-Growth

I would love to learn how to cook and prepare food for my family. I want to learn all the basics and be someone who could whip out anything from the kitchen to heartwarming meals set on the table for everybody to enjoy. There are a lot of things that could gather people together and one of those is food. I may not be a good cook but the inner desire of wanting to have good food motivates me to learn how to cook. This is a great motivator for me to be a part of the kitchen and be involved in the magic of food.

You'll Know What You Eat

If you prepare your own food then you would be mindful about the nutrients or junk you consume. If you’re trying to go on a diet, eating out can cause you to eat unwanted calories and sugar that may not be healthy for your body. You might go in with good intentions, but you never really know what goes into making the food that you are eating. If you want to know where your food comes from, eating out makes it harder for you to access that information. By cooking your own meal, you can ensure that the ingredients you’re eating are fresh, locally sourced and healthy for you.

You Can Resist Temptation

Fastfood are everywhere. You may be tempted to divulge in that bucket of fried chicken or that delicious cheeseburger with fries and a large coke. Who could resist the temptation it brings? It makes sense that the more calories and fat you eat, the fuller you feel and the sooner you stop eating, right? Sadly, this logic doesn’t apply to all kind of foods. Eating out creates the perfect outlet for over indulgence. You’re served highly palatable food in large portions, and you don’t feel like you want to stop eating.

Eating at home encourages you to make correct food decisions, especially if you set yourself up for success by having healthy ingredients on check. Cooking at home also keeps portions in check because you can control how much you eat and the ingredients you add on your meals. One simple way to train yourself to eat less is by serving your food on a smaller plate. It will appear as though you’re eating more when you’re actually eating less.

Cooking at Home Means Eating Together with Family

When you are at the dinner table you tend to share stories and catch up with your family, it will be a way of bonding over a good meal. Dinner time may be the only shared experience in a day. Cooking is a skill that gets easier with practice, and most children enjoy food they have helped prepare. Eating at home is good for our health. Eating at home with home-cooked meals take in more nutrients and are less likely to be overweight. Eating at home just a few times per week will improve your diet and health — and aid in weight loss.

What am I currently doing to make this a reality?

I am currently watching a lot of youtube videos in how to cook and prepare food. I am also currently trying to learn the basics of cooking by helping my Mom in the kitchen. I am learning and trying day by day to achieve my goal .

I hope you enjoy reading through my post.
A special thanks to @inspiracion for this wonderful contest and for @steemcurator01,@steemcurator02 and @booming account for the support !

Images:

1.,2.,3.,4.,5.

arabesko.ru_13-1.png

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

       @sakura1012 is an ambivert, a non-conformist, a clinical psychology graduate student, a proud feminist and a life traveler. She is currently a part time writer- a mental health advocate and a mental health professional. She promotes mental health awareness and psychology related topics through her blogs. Join her as she do the things that she loves by putting her thoughts into words and by raising her voice though her articles.
Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Very well the way you describe the importance of learning to cook and being independent. I also really admire people who, in addition to their profession, know how to perform manual trades and this makes me think that they are versatile and very intelligent.

Thank you very much for your participation. I wish you a lot of success.😊

Yes I think that people who knows how to cook are independent people and thats why I want to be one of those people. Thank you @inspiracion for appreciating my post 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84