Best Moments Of Life

in Steemit Nursery3 years ago

Thank you very much for this contest @bright-obias

I have been exposed to so many circumstances, good and not so good situations but in all, memories were made, certain life lessons were taught and something new was learned wherever I found myself. The best moments of my life though were the days that I spent in my home village last year. It’s been close to nine years since I last visited my hometown so when the news about visiting my hometown got to me, I was already foreseeing some good and interesting days ahead.

During the Covid-19 break in my country; Ghana, my dad wanted us to use the opportunity to pay two weeks visit to my hometown. Fortunately for me, both parents are from the same village so you can just say we killed two birds with one stone. We went there on the 18th of December, 2020.

Fridays are the market days in the town as such we were welcomed by a crowd of people by the roadside. The way people were watching us, made me feel like one big-time celebrity.

Upon our arrival at my mother’s family house; we were welcomed by strange but familiar faces. It was all fun and laughter. All my aunties and uncles whom I don’t really know or recognize claimed to know my siblings and me. They kept saying “you’ve grown ooo” as if they expected us to be retarded. It was funny and quite annoying to come extent but I counted it all joy. We got there around 3:30 pm GMT.

In the evening, I decided to take a stroll in town to see what I can remember from nine years ago. Some buildings will never change, like the Catholic Church building and the palace. I was able to recollect memories of such buildings because I spent most of my childhood days there. Whiles taking the stroll, a lot of people kept glancing at friends nearby. Up to date, I still don’t know what they were actually gossiping about so to speak. Naturally, I am an extrovert and that helped me a lot to reconnect with my old friends who surprisingly recognized me.


WhatsApp Image 2021-04-28 at 15.43.07.jpeg
Getting ready to start the game.

The next morning, the town team had a football match with the next town to mine. Fortunately for me, one of my uncles was the coach and decided to let me play. I made a name for myself when I missed a goal; it was a clear chance for me to score but I missed. I still don’t blame myself because that was the first time playing on that field. Besides that, it was my first time playing in a very long time. I had some admirers according to my brother who happened to hear a group of girls talking about me.

My dad and I decided to visit his parents. Again, I was shocked when my grandfather recognized me and was able to mention my full and even mention names that I didn’t even know I had. I had a great time with him. He took my brother and me to his garden and taught us a couple of farming tricks as well and encouraged us to get into farming one. I am obviously going to take his advice. Just at the sight of him, I fell in love with him; blood is indeed thicker than water.
Now a week was gone and it has been all joy and fun though I had to walk for an hour and a half to get to my grandfather’s farm all in the name of adventure. When I got to the farm, I could literally not feel my legs and I swore never to walk to that farm again should I ever visit my hometown again. My dad had to come and pick us up from the farm otherwise I would have stayed there. Besides the walking, I stressed myself out by weeding and harvesting cocoa for my grandfather. He even wanted me to carry firewood from the farm to the house. It was then that I understood why he is 97 years and still strong.


WhatsApp Image 2021-04-28 at 15.43.05.jpeg
my grandfather and I

During my visit, I took the time to tutor my only three female teenage cousins and they taught me how to prepare certain local foods as "banku". I taught them about the dangers of the world of men. I was surprised to know how teenage pregnancy has become a canker within the town. I initiated an adolescent reproductive health club with my cousins as my first members. The following day, they brought two of their friends. It was very interactive and educative. I got to really appreciate how little knowledge they have about their reproductive health. I told my aunties and uncles and they were willing to support me even when I leave.


WhatsApp Image 2021-04-29 at 07.39.16 (1).jpeg

Finally, our two weeks were over and we had to come back to the capital. With all the fun, experiences, and reunion that I made, I think going to my home town and spending time with my friends and family are the best moments of my life.


WhatsApp Image 2021-04-28 at 15.43.06.jpeg
This is Ahenkan; my cousin and the son of the current chief.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations @daakye:clap_tone1:,

You will get the label as #Newborn by @ghostfacer99. Have a pleasant journey in Steemit Nursery Community, Thank you!

Phase: Newborn/04-2021 @ghostfacer99

Thank you!

 3 years ago 

Thank you

Hello @daakye,

Welcome to the Steemit Nursery family! We are pleased to onboard you as a #Newborn in our community.

Please note that Steemit is blockchain-based blogging and social networking site that rewards users in STEEM cryptocurrency for posting and curating material. Do participate by making posts, commenting, and voting on others' posts.

Best regards,
Steemit Nursery Team

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much

Here's a catch-up vote for your achievement 1 post task.

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much for participating in the contest ... Much love from @bright-obias

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37