You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What do we make of this? Anything?

Interesting question, which I have often asked about the "ghost ship Steemi INC". Also interesting is the fact that the Steemit.com front end still shows TRX Rewards, but they have not been paid out for some time.

Steemit.com is "only" a condenser for the BC. Although the most popular, there are plenty of other ways to access the content.

But what about the steemitwallet domain, for example? Who owns it and what happens if it is blocked, deleted or frozen due to some new law? The technical background and the business legal background/company or project responsibility/liability must be strictly separated.

Sort:  

But what about the steemitwallet domain, for example? Who owns it and what happens if it is blocked, deleted or frozen due to some new law? The technical background and the business legal background/company or project responsibility/liability must be strictly separated.

Good point. There are options with Steemworld and the Steem Keychain, but they are limited and you have to trust the providers. There is also a command line wallet, but last time I tried to compile that my computer didn't have enough memory, and it requires some technical skills.

but last time I tried to compile that my computer didn't have enough memory, and it requires some technical skills.

I think this is an insurmountable hurdle for 95% of users.

The big question would still be: who buys what?

Is it about the stake + bonus a condenser domain (steemit.com) with an outdated frontend? That's all Inc. is, if it still exists in this form today.

I think this is an insurmountable hurdle for 95% of users.

When I first started here, someone was making precompiled binaries of the CLI wallet for Windows users, so that would be a possibility for non-technical users. Of course, then you're back to trusting someone. It's the same way with any other crypto, though. How many people compile their own Bitcoin wallets?

The big question would still be: who buys what?

The more I think about it, the more I think that it's probably just a mistake on that website. I guess they probably got the name by scraping LinkedIn or something like that. Based on the ads on the Steemit website, I'm guessing that Tron still owns Steemit.

That's all Inc. is, if it still exists in this form today.

Well, it's nice to see some front-end development happening again and the proposal system being used prudently and effectively. I would definitely like to see a renewal of activity at the blockchain layer, but to be fair, I think that their curation activities are adding value to the ecosystem. It's not just the stake, but how it's used. One step at a time, I guess... 🚶😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65665.03
ETH 3585.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53