Seeing Old Trees and Going Down the Memory Lane

in APPICS3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210407_080814.jpg

I just had my Covid swab test which was free and sponsored by our local government. They decided to do it at the town plaza which happens to be just infront of our ancestral home and a place so familiar to me because this is were I grew up. The plaza was my playground when I was a kid and I have a lot of memories in that park. Every corner of it, I know like the back of my hand but I have not visited it in a long time.

Our town plaza is about a hectare in size and when I was little it felt like it was a wide and huge place to wander but as I got old, it has become tiny. There used to be a lot of trees there and some of them are fruit-bearing but the storms have taken down most of them.

I was happy to see this one Mabolo tree or a Velvet apple tree, which was one of the trees I used to climb. It's like a wild tree but it has fruits that are edible, some even call it Philippine apple. It looks like an apple but its skin is hairy, almost like a velvet cloth. The inside of the fruit is like cooked potato but a little bit on the sandy side in texture, almost as sandy as pear but it is less watery.

Oh the nostalgia, when I saw this tree and the other old trees around the plaza. It made me feel like a kid again. I was anxious about the swab test that I have to go through every month, but with that flashback in my head, it made me smile and relax. Three decades, things have changed but some things have remained strong like this Mabolo tree, it even has fruits just like how it used to.

IMG_20210407_075421.jpg

All images in this post are mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49