Steemit Engagement Challenge S4-W4: "Our daily bread"steemCreated with Sketch.

Hello Everyone,

Welcome to the last week of the Steemit Engagement Challenge season 04. This is the first contest I'm participating in this season. A little late for the show but like to end it on a high note.

"Bread" is something that I love to eat on regular basis so this is the perfect contest to start off. @hive-141434 has asked four questions as a challenge. I'm ready to answer while having some 🍞, yes this is going to be my breakfast today.

Bread.jpg
Designed on Canva

Breaker.png

Name of the bread and its ingredients that characterize it and make it delicious for you.

Breaker.png

There are many types of bread, but not all are available in the market. There are local bakeries that sell one type of bread and then there are supermarkets with more varieties. I visited Keels one of the leading supermarkets in Sri Lanka to show you the varieties they have right now.

keels.jpgMe, visiting Keels Supermarket to purchase loaf of bread

From the below varieties I like to eat the Top Crust Bread the most. Ingredients are pretty straightforward as this is such a normal bread. They are, flour, yeast, salt & water. However, they have not indicated the Ingredients on the pack. Maybe there is a secret ingredient because I must say this bread is so soft and has a mouth watering taste even without curry or butter on it.

Bread varietyPrice (unit) LKRPrice USDPrice Steem
Top crust.jpg
Top Crust Bread
169 LKR
0.47 US$
2.23 Steem
Sand 450.jpg
Sandwich Bread 450g
300 LKR
0.83 US$
4.00 Steem
sand 700.jpg
Sandwich Bread 750g
400 LKR
1.10 US$
5.30 Steem
Kura.jpg
Kurakkan Bread 200g
200 LKR
0.55 US$
2.65 Steem
Multi.jpg
Multigrain Bread 200g
300 LKR
0.83 US$
4.00 Steem

There were some more options on this list earlier. But with economical difficulties I can see those bread varieties such as Cheese And Onion Bread, French Bread are not available in the shop now.

Breaker.png

Why do you like this bread?

Breaker.png

As I said earlier, this bread is so soft that it feels like it melts inside the mouth. When it is combined with some curry the taste becomes multiple times good. For example, this is my breakfast for today morning. With fresh bread and some dhal curry to mix with chicken curry. A perfect combination which I like the most.

0-02-06-2f0f7274bc0b60935f6164d6f7b9c6f7089570ad9bd54d5afd5e061f16d3e1e8_d927dd1366569883.jpgMorning breakfast with Bread mixed with dhal and chicken curry

Breaker.png

What is its preparation cost? Or its price in the bakery where you bought it?(Steem)

Breaker.png

Preparation costs can vary according to the scale they produce this bread. Usually, Sri Lankans never bake their bread at home. Instead, it is available in any shop anywhere. The price is affordable compared to other food items. So people tend to eat bread as a regular meal.

Receipt of the purchased Bread

As I mentioned the lowest price we can purchase bread is 169 LKR which converted to 2.23 Steem. Mind you, loaf of bread was the cheapest meal a regular person could purchase in Sri Lanka. It was as cheap as 69 LKR (1.50 Steem or less) 06 months ago. With high inflation now the price increased.

Breaker.png

To which Steemit user would you give this Bread that you like, and why?

Breaker.png

Maybe @tucsond & @enveng would love this. They seemed to be food lovers, so they would give a chance to taste Sri Lankan bread. Of course, I would accompany them with some Sri Lankan curries to make it a wonderful experience 😉

Even though she already knew about Sri Lankan bread I would like to share this bread with @arshani as she is into the food diary game. I'm certain she can share her bread experience too.

Thank you.

Peace to all 🙏

Unless otherwise stated, all the images, charts, tables, etc (if any) are my original work

Sort:  

Hello dear you have sharing various bread with price and ingredients, thanks for the useful information. I like your publication. Good luck for the contest

Thank you for your wishes! I read the different varieties of bread in your post as well. They look delicious and reasonable compared to what we have.

 2 years ago 

Definitivament el pan de sandwich es uno de mis favoritos! para comerlos rellenos o uno a uno acompañado de café o alguna mermelada :D

éxitos en tu participación!

Oh yes.. with some mixed fruit jam 😉

Hi, it is a pleasure to read your detailed and beautifully prepared post, as I love bread too 😊 Unfortunately, inflation also affected bread prices. We consume it widely for breakfast in my country, so it is a pity that the price has increased🙄 I hope one day I can taste this soft and delicious bread 😋 Thanks for this nice post 🌸

Inflation got to everything now. Even here we consume bread for all meals not just breakfast 😁 but the problem is we don't produce flour and it is exported. That's the reason for the 100+% increase for a such meals.

Yummy variety bread items. Spreading jam, butter or chili paste on slices of bread and making a cup of milk for breakfast is something that can be done without any effort for me 😁. Therefore, it is not surprising that many people have resorted to eating bread. When you eat the bread, the curry combined with it looks very delicious. Thank you for kindly inviting me for the contest. I will try to participate for the contest.

Chili paste with bread! haven't tried that. But other options will always be the favorite for anytime in the day 😁

 2 years ago 

Hola amigo

Oye que rico que eligieras pan de sandwich como tú favorito. Tu desayuno luce espectacular 😍, yo quiero

Me encanta como mencionas los distintos tipos de pan y su precio

Espero que a tus amigos les guste mucho tu elección. Si no me dices a mi y yo si me como ese desayuno con gusto 🙈

Te deseo mucho éxito amigo

If you are quite fond of spices you can eat Sri Lankan curries. Otherwise, you will be full of tears 🤪

Let me find another food contest to invite you for my meal 😃

Success to you too my friend!

Hello friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85