SEC-S9W5 "The internet , my best ally"

Hello friends!!

It's week 5 already..How time flies!!. The theme for week 5 is something that cuts across the world the internet my best ally

What activities do you do online
hands-820272_1920.jpg using the internet source

The internet is a home away from home. It brings various person's from all works of life into a space.

With the internet several activities can be achieved. The internet has made so many people wealthy and in the same manner some has also lost wealth through the internet.

The activities I do online includes;


Chatting with my loved ones


One of the major activities I do online is chatting with my friends and family. Chatting is a means I communicate with my loved ones.

Through chatting on the internet, communication is made easy and cheaper for me than putting a call across to my loved one.

There are so many social media platforms that enable me to communicate with my loved ones on the internet, but the one I use mostly is the Whatsapp


Source for information


girl-6112208_640.jpg young lady sourcing information on phone source

Sourcing for information on the internet is another activity I do. Most times I have questions and I do not know who to direct my questions to so I do to some search engines on the internet to get my question answered.

Other times I go there to read so I can improve my self and become better in any area of life.


Attend meetings and Conferences


training-3207841_640.jpg an online meeting source

During the pandemic I realized that meetings and Conferences can be held online. The internet brings us together on a particular app like zoom, free conference call app and many others.

One of the activities I do online is hold and attend meetings. I do not need a physical meeting point, all I need is an internet service. Infact online meetings cost way cheaper than physical meetings.

Think of how much it will cost to rent a hall that will seat 200 people and above, think of the money for decoration or transportation cost to the venue. You will still give them refreshment but with the on-line meeting nothing like that. Hahaha ...


Blogging


Yes I blog online. Writing for me is something I find great joy doing and the best place I express my writing skill is online.

There is no other way to write on steemit if not online. So when I open my Steemit account, I am blogging.


Video Calls


The internet has enabled me to place a video call to anyone in the world as long as they have an online presence.

I can now see the person am speaking with on phone. This is achieved online.

Since what age did you start using the internet? How much do you use it everyday?
20230510_171652.jpg my self using the internet on my phone

Growing up we had no computer in the house, neither did I own a phone. The only place I saw computers was at school. And that was when I began to use the internet.

At age 12 I began to use the internet. Back then when I was given a home work, we would go to our computer laboratory to plead with the prefect in charge to give us the key to the computer laboratory so that we can search for the answers to the homework given to us.

I use the internet everyday so much so that a day without the internet makes me sick. Am always online. Either am on steemit or am on Whatsapp. We have 24 hours in a day, so let's say I spend over 7 hours every day on the internet

There is so much I do everyday online. Just on steemit, I am a moderator in 3 communities, this entails that I verify posts on the days of my duty, set contest and even make my own publication.

Do you have internet at home? How much does it cost(please indicate the price in local currency and in steem)

For me to be spending over 7 hours online everyday shows that I have an internet in my house. So yes I have an internet at home.

Over here in my country, to have access to the internet, you would need to buy data, this is called subscription of data. There are several internet service providers depending on the sim card you are using.

For me I do a month, weekly or daily subscription depending on the money I have at hand. My monthly subscription is 11gb data which only last for 1 week. This cost 3000 naira equivalent of 30 steem. While if am doing a daily subscription it will be 1gb which cost 500 naira equivalent of 5 steem

Data cost so much over here and it doesn't really last the way it should. At the end of the month I must have spent over 12000 naira equivalent of 120 steem on data to enable me access the internet.

Why do you think the internet can be harmful?

Someone once said to me that everything that has an advantage will certainly have a disadvantage I totally believe.

Though the internet has great benefits and had impacted lives, on the other hand it can be harmful in the wrong hands. Let's take a look at how it can be harmful;


Fraudulent Practice


With the internet, there has been the record of fraud such as stealing of funds from people, scamming and the likes of it.

These people know that they can't be traced so they go online using fake identities.


Cyber bully


The internet can be harmful when there is cyber bullying. Once someone bullied a friend of mine with some threat asking for money of he exposes her secret.


Early exposure of kids to hard contents


The internet can be harmful when kids or under aged are expose to contents that are not meant for them on the internet. This can affect their phycology and mind.

What benefits has the internet brought to your life?

The internet has done so well for me and has benefited me in no small way.

The internet has given me so much exposure to life and things in general. I would not have known the things I know now if not for the internet.

The internet has given me so much opportunities like the opportunity of getting to know about Steemit or blogging at large.

I have made friends and connected with even people I have not seen before through the internet. Presently I have a best friend which I met online. This would not have been possible.

The internet has made communication easier and cheaper for me..imagine how much I would have spent.

Through internet has documents can be saved safely and retrieved when needed.


Thank you for reading I invite my friends to join me in this contest @solperez @mayberling @lhorgic

Sort:  
TEAM 5 CURATORS This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07. We support quality posts anywhere and with any tags. Curated by: @waterjoe
Hola @ruthjoe es un gusto saludarte... Sin dudas que el internet puede facilitarte la comunicación con tus amigos y seres queridos, interactuar con aquellos que se encuentran lejos se volvió más fácil.

Es una gran fuente de información de temas tan diversos, ideal para aclarar nuestras dudas, de verdad que durante el tiempo de pandemia el internet fue un gran escape hasta para poder realizar las conferencias sin tener contacto personal.


Muy acertado el decir que todo tiene una ventaja y una desventaja, el internet no escapa de esta realidad, pero depende de cada persona ser responsable y precavido en este medio.

Saludos y bendiciones.


Hi, @ruthjoe,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.

Your post was picked for curation by @graceleon.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Acesing the internet has become one of our daily important activities.

Truly we could fall sick when we don't get to access it especially in country like Nigeria where we love cruise. Na who no get data dey enter depression😀.

Thanks for the invite friend. Am grateful.

Amiga, excelente participación. El internet nos ha acercado a personas que tenemos lejois; y nos ga alejado de los que tenemos cerca. Pero es, sin duda alguna, una bendición de Dios; y desde mi punto de vista, son más las ventajas que las desventajas que tiene. Saludos y suerte.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66612.27
ETH 2467.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60