survival on the island by @papi.mati

in RECREATIVE STEEM3 years ago

Intro



Choosing the things I would like to have on the island would depend on few factors:
If I would like to leave the island as soon as possible, I'd choose the satellite phone, raft with oars and radio with the batteries. That would let me contact others and ask for help. If I would be there with some friends and people I love, I'd probably prefer to stay there forever and then I would choose other things. Let's consider that scenario.

1. Water


Having potable water is the most important thing in the wild. We can live without food for few weeks but without the water, we would die in few days. Bottled water seems to be useless, it will last for a very short time. Chloral pills can be more helpful but in fact, if there is any lake or the river, we can take the water from there and disinfect it by making the fire and boiling it for some time. As I have only three things to take, I'd skip anything water related and focus on boiling skills


2. Food


Another very important thing, crucial for surviving. Canned or dehydrated food lasts for a short time, so I would rather choose fishnet and the knife, which would be useful in many ways - I could make the tools to hunt the animals with it (I'm almost a vegetarian but in that situation, I'd probably change my habits), I could also prepare some shelter with its help.

Of course, except for the meat from the wild animals and fish, I'd have to spend plenty of time collecting edible fruits and vegetables and, if the island would be big enough, I could try to use the seeds to make my own garden to reduce the time needed to collect the food in the future.


3. Shelter


Like mentioned before, I could build it with bamboo or wood and a knife would help me in that a lot (well, with bamboo... I don't think I could cut the tree with it). That would protect me from some cold, but if it would be not enough, I could use the leaves as the cover, so no need to have sleeping bags or blankets. Extra heat and protection from the wild animals could give me the fire. I know it's possible to make a fire with two sticks or rocks, but as I have never done it before, I'd probably choose the lighter as my third thing.


4. How to replace other things


A flashlight could be replaced with the torch which I could make thanks to the lighter, spear could be made with the stick and the knife, the small pot I'd make with the coconut shell or maybe I'd find some turtle and I could use its shell, soap can be replaced with the ash and sand, the solar protector could be skipped while we would avoid the strongest sun in the middle of the day and mosquitos, as long as it's not dengue region, are not that problematic.


Summary



If I want to stay on the island for longer but also want to survive, I'd choose the lighter, knife, and fishnet.
If I am expecting help as soon as possible, I'd choose the radio, telephone, and raft


Thank you for reading,
@papi.mati

CC:
@yanelpuerta

Invitation to the contest goes to:
@geos90
@isaacellias
@willeusz

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hola amigo, espero estés bien! Como siempre, encantada de leerte y de ver tus prolijas participaciones en RECREATIVE STEEM. Un fuerte abrazo :-)

 3 years ago 

Hola, muchas gracias por sus palabras. Todo lo mejor para ti!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83