My Experience with Mathematics

in RECREATIVE STEEM10 months ago (edited)

photostudio_1699347327652.jpgCaptured with Nokia C30

My Experience with Mathematics


I came to view mathematics as a language that is spoken through symbols and signs,
It's a unique way to see a world expressed in number, patterns and lines.
It's a tool to find solutions, to the mystery and riddles of science.
With the right teacher, you'll love it, but if not you will surely hate it the most.

How good were you at math?

In and around my immediate surrounding, there exist this attitudinal conditioning that has poor effect on our perception of mathematics. Everyone says that mathematics is difficult, so we already feel defeated from home. In school my mathematics teacher started by telling us that we will not succeed as if mathematics was an indomitable enamy. So I did not do futher/engineering mathematics because on the first day of the class, the engineering mathematics teacher said we could not solve mathematics and we are wasting out time with an even higher form of mathematics.
At the start, I was not good at Mathematics but I accepted the challenge.

Was it difficult for you to learn them?

When I was still feeling defeated, with math anxiety, it was very difficult to learn mathematics. With teachers not helping at school and parents not able to assist at home, I had to seek for external assistance from some older friends who were more confident when it came to mathematics.
I learnt confidence from them and the fact that a mathematical problem could be solved in a number if ways. With that I had to pick the method I was most comfortable with. Learning was not easy, it required more effort and practice compared to other.

Share an anecdote while you were studying this area of knowledge.

When I was still learning mathematics, I had a teacher who whipped me everyday due to my inability to recite the times table. Though I truly could not recite the time, I was good at other things.
I could observe an identify patterns, and make predictions based on the observation. I also knew I could recite 5, 10 and 11.
So I had to observe and note where she started calling on students to recite the time tabe, following her pattern I could tell where 5 would fall so I fix myself there. Not knowing mathematics is not proof that we are not smart.

Do you remember any topic that was easy for you to understand?

photostudio_1699383359048.jpg

Playing with mathematical sets made Pythagoras theorem easy to work with because I could see how true the problems were. I could practically see how the length of the sides and angles related to each other.

Which was the most complicated?

I had problems solving quadratic equations, because at a point I was always asked to come up with two numbers. It often sound like this "Two numbers whose sum is 7 and whose product is 10"
The problem was the fact that I was told there is no formula for finding the two numbers so it had to be trial and error.

What do you think is the importance of mathematics in everyday life?

We actually need mathematics in it's various forms in our every day live. We buy, pay Money and calculate our balance. We go shopping and we are told we can get 20% discount so how much are we paying?
When we know that we used 20 litters of fuel to drive from home to school and will like to get fuel that will take us to the market and back home.
If I cooked 3 kg of rice for five people and now I will be having 13 people visiting me, how much rice should I cook.
We really use mathematics everyday, some are calculated in out subconscious like when we are driving and calculating the distance between the car we are tailing and how much pressure to apply to slow down the car based on our current speed.

We use it all the time sometime inconspicuously without noticing it's application.

I will love to call on @udyliciouz @bela90 @samuelnkenta @jozzie90 and @goodybest to participate in this contest

Media Credit
Captured with Nokia C30
Captured by@manuelhooks
Edited withPhotoStudio App
For VerificationMy Achievement 1 Link
To view linksUse Edge or Chrome for better results


#matematicas #steemexclusive #fintech
#burnsteem25 #learnwithsteem
#nigeria #club5050

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 10 months ago 

Siempre es importante un profesor que nos anime y que de todo su esfuerzo por los estudiantes. Aunque tuvo esa mala experiencia con sus maestros lo mejor fue que usted decidió aprender y con sus limitaciones pudo lograrlo.

¡Gracias por compartirnos su experiencia con las matemáticas!

Participante #10.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59388.60
ETH 2528.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50