SEC S17W5: The Diary Game || 4.05.2024: The ways of life

in RECREATIVE STEEM2 months ago

AGC_20240504_111502305.PORTRAIT.jpg

Hello friends of Recreative Steem, I am excited to write about how my day went and what is more exciting is the SEC topic for the week.

I had a rather splendid day on the 4th of May 2024. Everyday we take different paths to arrive at our destination. I had a whole lot of visitation to make and I wanted to be able to visit a lot of people..This is how my day went.

Life is beautiful when we get to be grateful to those who helped nurture, care and feed us. I went back to my maternal village where it all started. A place I can call home not because of the building but the people who helped me whilst I was a baby. They all helped to give me the life I needed when I was younger. So I was ready to take a trip to see them. They were my destination for the day and this is the path I took to reach that destination.

After my trip to Ikono Local Government Area, I stayed with my siblings and mom a little bit far from the compound I grew up. So I made plans to pay a visit to them in a surprising manner.


          My Morning Routine

AGC_20240504_065514175.jpg

Helping to fetch water

I woke up on Saturday feeling very excited, and since there was no water, I helped to fetch water using a wheelbarrow. The place to get the water was a little far but I was equal to the task. I brushed my teeth and took my bath. I was quite hungry, so I went out with my brother to get Akara (Bean cake) and bread.

PXL_20240504_075333889.MP.jpg

We walked a distance looking for the Akara and we didn't see one. So we had to ask the locals, and we were directed on where to go. We were all excited when we saw an Akara joint. We got it for 600 Naira (6 Akara balls). Then we went to a shop to get bread, which we bought for 800 Naira.

AGC_20240504_080638047.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpgAGC_20240504_080535769.jpgAGC_20240504_080509584.jpg

Breakfast was ready...We walked back home and then we sat down to eat, and well I took some pictures with my siblings and mom eating our breakfast.

AGC_20240504_083416506.PORTRAIT.jpgAGC_20240504_083715911.PORTRAIT.jpg

We drank a lot of water and rested a little bit. We had already planned to take a short trip to My mom's village in the afternoon.


          Afternoon Trip

After my morning rest, mom called everyone to get ready for the trip. We dressed and got prepared and we moved out for the trip. We were about taking motorcycles, but the rates they mentioned was very costly and we couldn't pay. Well since the location was a distance that could be trekked, we took off to the village on foot.

AGC_20240504_082319918.jpgAGC_20240504_104213339.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg

At first we walked past a fuel station on the way and proceeded to the market which was a little close by. It was sunny so we had to look for a shade. On the way, mom greeted some people she knew and introduced us to them, as we haven't been to the village for 4 years.

AGC_20240504_104140972.PORTRAIT.jpgAGC_20240504_104007412.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg

We stayed in the market for some minutes, and a lot of people were calling us to come buy some of their goods.


AGC_20240504_104711929.jpg

Tiger Nuts

We didn't plan on buying anything, but we got tiger nut. All of us love eating tiger nuts. We got both the fresh one and the dry one. Tiger nuts are actually nutritional to the body. We continued our journey whilst eating the tiger nut on the way.


AGC_20240504_105725370.jpgAGC_20240504_105917618.PORTRAIT.jpg

Soon we arrived at the Ikono General Hospital, which was very close to my mom's compound. When I was a little baby, mom used to take me to the hospital for checkup. I stood there to take a picture of the hospital. It was exciting to feel that warmth and ambience my village offers. We took a short cut to the family house and I had a lot of nostalgic feelings.

This was the route I used to take 10 - 15 years ago to get mangoes and cashew. Walking past this route reminded me of a whole lot of things.

AGC_20240504_110534741.PORTRAIT.jpgAGC_20240504_110558845.PORTRAIT.jpg

As I was about entering the main compound, I met my great grandmother who was cultivating maize. For her age, she shouldn't be planting anymore but she still feels strong to do that. When she saw us, she screamed for joy, I was quite happy to see her. She looked so strong and I gave her a hug...I could feel her warmth and frail body, the smell of grass and maize all over her. I teased her, telling her how strong she was and we took some pictures.

AGC_20240504_110916594.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpgAGC_20240504_115508776.jpgAGC_20240504_111009521.PORTRAIT.jpg

We all went to the big compound and the sight was glorious, some adjustments had been done to the big compound. I couldn't even recognise it. This compound was built in 1941, using brick and clay. It was exciting seeing this wonderful building still standing. This is the same compound I stayed as a baby, same compound I grew up in. So I was very happy going back to it.


AGC_20240504_113855667.PORTRAIT.jpg

I had lunch with my great grandmother and then went off to see my grandmother's friend, she also took care of me when I was a baby. She was also in the farm cultivating crops. She shouted my name as usual and gave me a hug. In her playful way she reminded me some moments in the past. I had a swell time with them. I met up to 8 people in the big compound before moving back to see my uncle. We stayed there till 5pm and then we started taking out leave.

We took motorcycles back home and I was really tired from the trip... I just had to sleep for the day.

It was special seeing my great grandmother and other people who took care of me when I was younger.

This is the path to my destination. As you have all seen, my destination was a set of individuals who gave my life a great meaning when I was younger.
AGC_20240504_111633856.PORTRAIT.jpg

They have taught me to always live in love with one another because this is the best character when it comes to living a great life.

Thanks for going through my post.

I invite @imohmitch, @basil20 and @davidmarkgeorge to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

My dear life is all about one step at a time. I know them seeing you grow up to the level you are now i know they will be amazed.

Eating akara and bread in the morning I think that's a nice food to go for the morning activities.

I'm happy you later reach your destination when the transportation fee seems to be too high.

But know, some times is good to trekke you know.

Your day sounds like a beautiful journey down memory lane and a wonderful opportunity to reconnect with your roots and loved ones.

Hello Dear Friend!!

It's really good to see your diary game with us. You are lucky one that you have w sweet and loving grandma. Definitely you will be happy too by serving her and spend good time with her. Thanks for the Participation. Wishing you good luck.

Thank you very much for your kind words. And yes i had a really good time with her. It was q wonderful and amazing day for me.

Reading your entry took me back to the good old days. I loved reading your entry. Your grandma is a very strong woman even stronger than some youths 😂😂😂 You really had a great time with your family. I saw this post after teaching on literature.Beautiful entry

Thank you very much and I appreciate your kind words to my Great Grand Mother 💓. Thanks for stopping by

You're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51