Addiction: the deadliest lifestyle

INTRODUCTION
Hey guys, hope we all are doing great? I want k warmly welcome each and every steemian author to my post of today..

4bEjbgCbFMvA8T33kKpp3RsBvZue1Hns5Cwuz57pgmmNsNpDH611MECCGffaKU3kepVZiJgCMspLAtsaf5buRgDm2MtpHBc9XC2eVdvVuRGysteVqzRHSbmczJMyVJUDuQHo9YwDtxEt1h6mw8JgAtjzQJ6HLKpaGVYJy1dR5UdpqjBCDt.png
img src

For today's post, I will love to make an entry for a very very interesting topic "ADDICTION." This contest was organized by sir/ma @graceleon and I am happy to come across such a wonderful and sparking contest topic.

According to @graceleon,
Addictions can be considered a taboo subject within the society in which we live; since it can be seen as a disease, a mental and/or emotional disorder that affects the character and behavior of the individual in the surrounding environment.
It is no lie that we have all somehow had to struggle with some kind of addiction; either in the past or at present; we could even become victims of some addiction in the future.

From my perspective, 80% of the youths in my country Nigeria have once suffered from addiction though I've not carried out a research to determine this percentage. However, in my country, it is considered as a very big taboo, because it not only breaks one down medically, but it also affects the mental capacity and activities of a given individual. Addiction is a very dangerous act and what is most frightening about it is that when a person decides to leave addiction at once, the tend to face withdrawal symptoms which can be very disturbing.

HAVE YOU EVER HAD AN ADDICTION?
Particularly, I have never been addicted to anything. I always realize myself before I get addicted to a particular thing. There was a time I was getting addicted to sleeping pills, and it was as if I couldn't sleep without taking any sleeping pills. At that time, I had transient insomnia due to past events, and i was having a hard time sleeping. I decided to treat the insomnia with some sleeping pills, but unknown to me, I was getting highly addicted to it.
WHAT DID YOU FEEL OR DO YOU feel WHEN YOU CAN SATISFY YOUR NEED IN THAT ADDICTION?
Well, when I satisfied my sleep, I always feel good and energetic for the next day. I always sleep very well at night, but the problem here was that I was getting addicted to the drug and I had to stop it.
HOW DID YOU REALIZE YOU WERE ADDICTED TO THIS EXCESS?
One way I realized that I was getting addicted to the drug was that I couldn't sleep in the night when I took the drug, and I will always need it to sleep. During that time, I will always feel sleepy during the afternoon but my eyes will be shining open just like a touch light during the night. I started panicking because my circadian rhythm was changing slowly and I couldn't do nothing because of I was getting addicted.
WHAT WOULD YOU RECOMMEND TO SOMEONE WHO IS GOING THROUGH WHAT YOU ARE GOING THROUGH AND HOW DO YOU THINK IT SHOULD BE OVERCOME?
First off, I went through sleeping pills addiction, I'm no longer going through it now. One thing I will tell anyone that is going through what I went through is that, they should visit their hospital and seek advice from their doctor on what to do. I could manage myself because I'm a medical practitioner and I also talked to my doctor on what is happening with me. However, I'll advice them not to withdraw at once from the drug addiction as it'll bring about withdrawal symptom. Thy should gradually withdraw from anything addiction.

However, the way I stopped being addicted was that, I reminded my self about the side effects of the drug I'm taking, I told myself about the change in my circadian rhythm and I tried as much as possible to always counsel myself about that drug. Another step I took was that I started taking coffee during the day, but I wasn't taking it regularly to avoid coffee addiction. I also stressed myself during the day, so that I'll fee tired towards the night and by so doing, I didn't have to rely on any sleeping medications no more.

Thank you for stopping by my post, I really appreciate the fact that you took your time t go through this piece of work. On that note, I will like to invite @fredquantum @ijelady and @ngoenyi to join the contest.

Thanks once again, I'll see you in the next post.

Sort:  

Hi, @comrade01,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.

Your post was picked for curation by @graceleon.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Thanks a lot @graceleon for selecting my post for support.. I really appreciate

 last year 

Greetings @comrade01.

Very interesting the way you were becoming aware of your drug addiction. You were losing the floor because you couldn't sleep because of the drug use at night, which turned into a panic attack due to your heart rhythm altered by the drug.

Sadly, there are many people in this situation, which merits that they recognize their level of addiction and then seek the appropriate help.

Thank you for sharing and I wish you a happy evening.

Thank you sir for stopping by my post.

I always pay close attention to the physiology of my body, and as such, I could tell tons certain extent when I'm biologically going the wrong way.
. I think people should pay attention to themselves often.

Thank you sir

 last year 

Greetings friend. Happy day to you. Success.

 last year 

Hola @comrade01
bienvenido a la comunidad RECREATIVE STEEM
la verdad es que las pastillas para dormir siempre son peligrosas y causan adicción rpidamente. solo son buenas para casos puntuales pero no se debe abusar de ellas.
Es bueno saber que ya lo superaste y que tu experiencia sirva para que otros también puedan salir del problema.
Te mando un abrazo y agradezco tu participación!

Thank you a lot ma for your warm welcome to the community and for this wonderful contest. It's really nice.
However, i will really want to be a part of this community, how do I go about it ma?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67685.77
ETH 3856.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69