Steemit Engagement Challenge S4-W4: "Our daily bread".steemCreated with Sketch.

in RECREATIVE STEEM2 years ago

Greetings to everyone in the recreative Steem community and welcome to my blog entry in the contest “our daily bread”. It’s week 4 of the challenge and it has been an awesome month with the level of engagement. Today, I will be writing about the daily bread I feel comfortable eating. That bread is called “French bread”. Before addressing the guiding questions of the challenge, I will like to give a brief overview of French bread 🥖 🥖.

AD822E58-AB04-48F3-9A30-A37966CD4437.jpeg
Edited on Canva.

An Overview of French Bread.

Several myths surround the origin of French bread. The first myth says the bread came about during the Napoleonic wars when Napoleon Bonaparte ordered bread factories to produce such skinny bread 🥖 so that it looks easy to be carried along by soldiers because it will not occupy a lot of space like other round loaves of bread.

Another myth about the french bread origin says the bread was produced for metro workers so that they avoid carrying knives around to cut bread. This was also to stop metro workers from fighting with knives.

Some others believed it was introduced in the 1920s after a Law was passed stopping bakers to work before it was 4:00 am. This bread was I traduced because it is easy to produce in large quantity within a shorter time.

CA211D9B-5A77-4DE7-9414-E146D7004BE4.jpeg
My French bread I bought from the store.

Lastly, others believed that French bread was introduced after the French Revolution when the equality law was passed. This bread was introduced to breach the gap between the poor and the rich.

So, there is no complete history of the bread. Cameroon happens to be once a French colony and we probably borrowed from the French culture. However, I so much love this bread without being bordered by myths. What is important now is why “French bread”🤔🤔. Let me get into the guiding questions.

Name of the bread and its ingredients that characterize it and make it delicious for you.

The bread that I usually consumed daily is “French bread”. Talking about the ingredients, there are simple ingredients used to bake this bread. The ingredients included:

  • Flour
  • Yeast
  • Salt
  • Water
  • Sugar
  • Milk

The bread is delicious to me because it is soft and digests faster. It is also good to produce egg rolls with it. I can eat it at any time of the day or even at night without being afraid of constipation. I can take it for breakfast with tea, vegetable salad, or with fruit salad. During work, I can consume it as lunch with fried beans, omelette or just with chocolate.

Why do you like this bread?

As I earlier said, the bread is soft and not hard like other round loaves of bread. This is one of the reasons I like French bread. Eating it frequently I’m not bordered with my stool.

The bread is healthy for the body. It digests faster and I like it because it does not constipate my stomach no matter the time I consumed it.

I equally like it because of the crispy crusts nature of the bread that I used to prepare egg rolls.

What is its preparation cost? Or its price in the bakery where you bought it?(Steem)

Even though I’m so much into this bread but I have never bordered to bake it myself. It is not complicated to produce but I do not have time to bake it myself.

Most often I buy from either a local store nearby my house or go to the bakery and buy when I am opportune. However, permit me to share with you all the cost of the bread at the bakery. The prizes are according to the size of the bread.

7C63DC68-138B-46B9-907E-6DB1C3A96437.jpeg

AF637CF8-E5C2-470D-AA2C-1AD175F7C812.jpeg

Selfie at a local bakery to purchase French bread for my uncle’s funeral.

The one I most often purchase was 100frs in our local currency, which is equivalent to about 0.8steem at the current rate. After the war in Ukraine, the price of flour increased and led to increase in price from 100frs to 125frs (approximately 0.9steem).

There is another medium size of French bread at the bakery which caused 550frs in my local currency (approximately 4 Steem).

The bigger size of the bread cost 1100frs, which is approximately 9.5 Steem.

I most often buy from the bakery (Mr baker, or njeiforbi because they both have unique prices. When I’m not chanced to pass by the bakery, I buy from a local shop around the quarter.

To which Steemit user would you give this Bread that you like, and why?

This is a difficult task because what might be tasteful in my mouth might not be tasteful to another person. We have our unique tastes but I will still share anyways. Maybe when they eat it, they will equally confirm the taste of the bread.

I will like to give this bread to @patjewell. Why? Because when I visited South Africa, I realized that the price of French bread was more expensive than other loaves. I know she is a good advocate and she might advocate for the price to be reduced.😇😇. I will like @wase1234, @emsonic and @codingherald to share their daily bread with us.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hola amiga

Oye muy interesante toda la historia del Pan Francés de tu país. Muy distinta a la del mío ya que nuestra receta de pan francés llegó a Venezuela en esas épocas de guerra en la cual muchos Europeos llegaron a nuestro país y trajeron algunas costumbres que poco a poco se fueron uniendo a las nuestras

Sin dudas el pan francés es lo mejor de lo mejor, es lindo ver qué a pesar de que estemos en continentes muy distintos ambos compartamos una preparación como está

Te deseo mucho éxito en el concurso

French bread all the way my dear friend. Thank you for the engagement on my entry post.

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Hahaha! It is you fault that I am sitting here with a wet screen!!! 😂
I burst out in laughter! You've made my day!
You are indeed right, French bread is more expensive.
As for me getting them to reduce the price... I wonder what they will do if I start arguing.. Hahah!
You and your bread post is precious!!! 🥖
Thank you for adding a bit of humor.

😂😂😂🤣I think change start with a single person. If you start, others like me will join you in the struggle.

 2 years ago 

I think change start with a single person

Thid is so true 👏🏻

 2 years ago 

You like the soft french bread, I like the strong one. Especially with chocolate and more inside ❤️ it's me falling inlove. Sometimes when I travel to Douala I cannot leave without tasting the french bread. Nevertheless it's not my favorite. I'll definitely share my daily bread too.

It is French bread for me all through. Wherever I go, it’s French bread or I do not consume bread.

 2 years ago 

Wow 😹
That's some tough love

🤓🤓🤓

Roti favorit mu memiliki bentuk yang besar dan pasti mengenyangkan, roti memang makanan yang mampu membangun energi bagi tubuh.
Terimakasih sudah berbagi postingan yang menarik

I appreciate your support on my entry post. 🤗🤗

Thanks for the mention

You are welcome my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48