Natural Medicines at Our Home

in Steem Healthcare3 years ago

Hello Steemit friends, today I will share with you my herbal garden and what natural medicines I make on regular basis. All the photos I did on my herbal garden where right now I have a full bloom :)

20210728_192810.jpg

Who hasn’t heard of nature's cures for everything? Very likely you can recognize a wild plant or two and know its uses. The yarrow is my favorite plant to stop minor bleeding, although plantain can be helpful as well. That is just the cut and use approach, no preparation just action. Although with numerous natural remedies, it is easy to become flooded with information and stay in the theory. The second reason preventing us from entering the plant’s magic is possible interactions between plant medicine and “mighty” pills. With that in mind, I want to introduce my trusted go-to options to you. Hopefully, you’ll overcome a few problems without much trouble as well.

20210728_192744.jpg

Skin Matters


My latest favorite is a kombucha scooby mask for clear skin. Although, when I don't feel like tidying up, I go for a "SCOBY patch". Meaning, simply place kombucha SCOBY directly on the problematic area and leave it there for about half an hour. By the way, SCOBY stands for Symbiotic Culture of Bacteria and Yeast, so only a healthy SCOBY is a useful scooby. It has a low pH and the unique cellular structure of SCOBYs has been known to promote healing by inhibiting the growth of beneficial microbes. Precisely that makes it perfect for treating sunburns, comforting minor burns, and combatting various skin troubles.

20210728_193036.jpg

Traditional Remedy for Sore Throat
Whenever I get a sore throat, I make myself honey-sweetened sage tea and sip it slowly. The most important step is to add honey to lukewarm tea to keep honey’s healing properties alive. It is better to eat a spoonful of raw honey on its own if you can’t wait for your tea to cool down. Don’t feel guilty due to all the sugar intake, a little soul-nourishing never hurt anybody. Better yet, why not make a bigger patch of sage tea and gargle a cup. If you don’t feel like cooking tea too often, I have a little trick to make things easier. It is called a sage tincture, which means steeping dried sage leaves in alcohol (30% or more) for 4 weeks. This way you’ll have a handy remedy at hand for up to two years. Most likely you’ll use it sooner for oral rinses, cold sores, and gargle actions. Needless to say, you should dilute sage tincture to your liking with water or tea.

20210728_193616.jpg

Inhalation


Inhalations are super important whenever viruses are circulating in the air. When we breathe deeply above the steaming pot and take all the added essential oils in, we can once again believe in miracles. Let me warn you that a little goes a long way when it comes to essential oils. Only add a drop at a time and practice inhalation once or twice a day for a limited time.
I am a big fan of 31 essential oils blended by the traditional Swiss recipe. However, oregano, thyme, and eucalyptus are famous for their antimicrobial effect while rosemary helps break up mucus and reduces inflammation, plus aids memory. If you suffer from scratchy throat add a drop of peppermint on a handkerchief and enjoy its cooling effect before sleep. Helpful essential oil for sinus infections and respiratory issues is also tea tree oil.

20210728_193646.jpg

Fight Fungi


The tea tree mentioned above reminded me of my victorious 6-month fight to get rid of nail fungus. If you are suffering from infected toes don’t hesitate, just enter the ring and fight. Success is guaranteed if you are consistent and patient. Time depends on the severity of your infection, however, the rule of thumb is that infected parts of the nail should be overgrown. I got rid of my problem by applying Tea Tree essential oil directly to the infected area twice a day. Every other day I combined it with Oregano essential oil. In addition to that, I prepared myself also a foot bath every afternoon. This bath is intense so pay attention and dilute it further if necessary. In a plastic bucket mix 4 cups of warm water, 1 cup of 3% hydrogen peroxide, half a cup of soda bicarbonate, and half a cup of Epsom salt. For extra punch to fungi, you can spice up the treatment with garlic. Simply place crushed garlic clove directly to the affected area for 30 minutes. Eating more garlic will also help and getting the sugar intake to a minimum is highly advised.

20210728_193907.jpg

Banish Intestinal Parasites


Parasites can affect us in all possible ways, although none is good. The more I researched this topic the more I liked the taste of wormwood. This is just one of many traditional ways to get rid of parasites. I prepared a tincture of wormwood, crushed cloves, anise, and oregano. In a mason jar, I put about a teaspoon of each spice and filled the jar to one-third with the dried chopped wormwood. All that I topped with vodka, you can use whatever strong alcohol you have at hand and let it steep for 4 weeks. Don’t forget to shake it daily and keep away from the sun. I took 20 drops of this tincture for 2 weeks 3 times a day. Since I like heat and parasites aren’t fond of it, I took an extra effort of eating cayenne pepper with every meal. Be careful not to extend the therapy, wormwood shouldn’t be taken for longer than 4 weeks! Too much of a good thing will turn out to be a bad thing.

20210728_193754.jpg

Menstrual Cramps


When that time of the month comes, I sit down with a heating pillow on my tummy and a cup of tea in my hands. A mix of yarrow and camomile works wonders for me. Sometimes I throw in a little bit of freshly crushed fennel seeds as well for an extra boost. The best-case scenario is when my darling shows his kindness and does the above-mentioned tea for me.

20210728_193727.jpg

Eye Infection


There are a few ways how to treat an infected eye. I have treated my eyes with coriander tea in which I put a little salt and honey. How to prepare this remedy is to steep 1 teaspoon of coriander seeds in 1 cup of boiling water until it is lukewarm. Then add to the tea honey and salt, half a teaspoon each. Coriander can be replaced by fennel, which is known to soothe pain and reduces redness. This mixture can be used as eye drops and eyewash. If you want a warm eye covering you can make it stronger by adding a whole teaspoon of both honey and salt.
Then we shouldn't skip the queen of herbs; Holy Basil aka Tulsi. Tulsi helps with the pink eye with its anti-inflammatory and soothing properties. You can prepare the wonderful eyewash to treat by putting the fresh tulsi leaves in boiling water and leave it steeping overnight. I must share my enthusiasm with you that not only I helped myself, but my pet as well. Here I must also mention that tulsi tea did wonders to quite a nasty wound my darling had on his foot.

20210728_193943.jpg

Final Thought


Nature truly has an answer for everything and we should respect that. In fact, the holistic approach that includes traditional medicines is the complete opposite of the patented drugs. More often than not we turn to natural remedies when modern treatment fails. However, if we use it with little inconveniences we will connect with nature and hopefully prevent serious issues.

I invite you to this contest @arrabela, @poss and @kekizz

20210728_192956.jpg

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you for sharing the benefits of this plant with us @wnfdiary please continue sharing your quality contents with us here

You are very welcome. Sure I will. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60210.85
ETH 3297.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38