CONTEST#4 : Your Bad Habits for Health | Sedentary time

in Steem Healthcare3 years ago

Hello Healthy People,

No matter how hard we try to be healthy, there are some habits that always pull us back from staying healthy. Even though we recognize that it is harmful to over body we still can't give up that habit. This is a very common situation for everyone I believe. I like to thank @shc-curator & @imamalkimas for bringing us this contest and it was useful for me to bring you a very important message from my own experience.

So, I have a sedentary lifestyle as my working capacity is entirely dependent on sitting in front of my laptop. This means I usually sit for at least 8 hours a day, but when I consider the time I spend sitting while travelling, eating and watching TV, or watching YouTube it's like I have barely had time to stand up in my daily routine. The worst issue here is that I do not take any rest when I'm working. Sometimes when I concentrated on one thing I might stand up again after a few hours. The time passes without any acknowledgment.

  • Since when did you do this habit?

It happened after I moved into an office environment in 2015. Before that I was actually standing a lot because I worked at a hotel front desk, we haven't had the luxury to sit and work. We had to attend to the guest queries all the time, so no time to sit and relax.

DSC_0279.jpg

My previous work place, Hotel Front Desk

But when I got promoted it was quite different in the back office. It always sitting long hours in front of a PC. Then I started my own Digital Marketing Agency, the same thing happen there too.. but with a lot more concentration on the laptop. So, now I do not feel the time and sometimes I only leave my desk for bathroom breaks.

Office.jpg

My office environment

  • What effect does this habit have on your health?

Recently when I checked my blood sugar it indicated that I have been diagnosed with diabetes. I'm quite sure my habit to sit for long hours is the reason for it. I'm not a fan of sugar or desserts nor drink alcohol or soft drinks often. I was maintaining myself well but I miss exercising when it's most needed. That two reasons could be the obvious reason.

  • Do you intend to leave the habit, if so how do you change the habit?

Of course, I do intend to leave this habit, I don't have a choice now. I have taken few steps since I was diagnosed with diabetes. I started exercising mainly while reducing the portion of meals that I take. But I have to work, that means I have to sit. So, as a solution now I'm trying to break the continuous sitting hours.

I have installed a chrome extension with the timer, with the help of that app now I take a rest in between my work hours. So, it is 25 minutes work and then 05 minutes of rest. In that break, I take a small walk or do some stretches. After every 04 cycles (02 hours) I get a long break of 15 minutes. That has given me a more comfortable working style and I feel refreshed after every 30-minute cycle.

image.png

This is the app that I'm using

  • Conclusion

To conclude, because of one bad habit now I'm suffering from diabetes. Even according to researches sitting is as bad as any other bad habit. It can simply kill you even without knowing. Because the risk always involves diabetes, Heart disease, High blood pressure & Cardiovascular disease. You can imaging the threat.

So, I'm suggesting everyone who reads this at least take breaks while you are sitting. Do not make the mistake that I have done. One bad habit over few years can ruin the rest of your life. Controlling sedentary time is important as your healthy diet and exercise. Be mindful of that.

Thank you.

Sort:  

Hello friend @virajherath, your recommendations that caused me some amazement, with your specifications I will always have perseverance to program a routine to walk for at least 30 min a day. Thank you for sharing your experiences and alerting us to all those risks. Well, I declare you healthy in the name of Jesus because you were not born diabetic as well as that complication arose out of nowhere. So I declare that that way it goes. don't take ownership of that disease. Have faith that God works miracles. take care of yourself.

I am grateful to you for taking the time to send me this message. It’s great to know that you allocated time after reading my story. I’m taking medicine and corrected my life style, I too hope I will get well soon. Thank you for your very kind message.

@ virajherath, Well I hope you continue to take care of you because you are a young person who has a lot of future ahead of him. may God bless you and always take care

I will @zormar21.. Thanks a lot for your concern! God bless you too..!!!

@ virajherath, Well I hope you continue to take care of you because you are a young person who has a lot of future ahead of him. may God bless you and always take care

Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome my friend..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00