Contest Announcement #6 : Tell me about natural remedies/traditional medicines that you often use|| My Herbal Medicine

in Steem Healthcare3 years ago

Good day healthy Steemians here in #SteemHealthcare community. It's @saneunji here and I would like to take part on this very informative contest initiated by @shc-curator which is very helpful to Steemians who's been looking for alternative medicines like " Natural Remedies and Traditional Medicines. "

Traditional Medicine such as Herbal Medicine and Natural Remedies has long been used by people as an alternative medicine to cure physical and mental illness.
These kinds of medicines are natural, affordable and known very effective to cure several diseases which were proven based on the experiences of the people who have been using this kind of method for ages.

Here in the Philippines we do have a lot of herbal medicines mostly found in the rural areas or mountainous part of the region. Even in this modern time where there are lots of advanced technology to cure illness and diseases, there are still few people including me and my family who believe in the Traditional Medicine and have been using it for a long time.

Today I will be sharing to you this herbal plant I've known eversince I was a kid.

Kalabo or Philippine Oregano

IMG20210725070113.jpg

This herbal plant is called " Kalabo ". a very well-known herbal plant which is proven effective in treating cough and cold especially to infants and kids. I've known this plant all my life because my mother has been using this to treat my cough when I was younger. I mean she also believes in modern medicine but she always resort first in natural remedies because she found it effective. Growing up in this kind of method, I personally adapt and applied it to my kids now that I am also a mother. I also use this herbal plant to treat their cough. Actually we grow our own Kalabo plant here in our small garden.

Here's an easy way in preparing Kalabo.

Steps in Preparing Kalabo

➡️First, get and prepare atleast two leaves of Kalabo plant.

IMG20210725070401.jpg

➡️Second, rinse the leaves in water properly.

IMG20210725070308 (1).jpg

➡️Third, you have two options in this step either you put the leaves in a small pan, add atleast 1 cup of water and let it boil then let the kids drink the water when it cooled down or you can directly put the leaves on top of an almost cooked rice to steam the leaves.

IMG20210725070446.jpg

For me I prefer the latter because it's easier, faster and it's more concentrated.

IMG20210725092840.jpg

➡️ Fourth, squeeze the leaves to extract the juice.

IMG20210725110443.jpg

➡️ Fifth and final step, let the kid drink the extracts and voila!!! It's all done.

IMG20210725110521.jpg

Preparing Kalabo For Infants

➡️ Put two leaves in a pan, add water and let it boil then use the water in preparing infant's milk.

Thoughts

For me personally using Herbal Medicine is way cheaper, practical and convenient. You can always grow your own herbal plants even in a small-spaced garden near your house or even in a clay pot anytime at your convenience. It's effect was proven and tested based on my experience in using such method that's why I will always use the Traditional Medicine.

So that would be all for now I hope this post can somehow help those Steemians who were gathering information regarding Traditional Medicine. Thank you all for reading!!! Until next time!!!

Always,
@saneunji

I am also inviting @hae-ra, @jenny018 and @mariarosa27 to take part of this contest too.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hi @saneunji, Thank you for your participation in this contest

Good work!

Thank you🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71