CONTEST #2 TELL YOUR FAVORITE HEALTHY DRINKS

in Steem Healthcare3 years ago

Hello Fellow Steemians of Steemhealth
I am so excited to be in your midst today. I trust you’re all keeping safe and keeping fit too.

I am really grateful to the Admin for putting up this contests. It’s a medium through which people can express themselves and their healthy lifestyles. I have been itching to share a lot of things with great friends and boom..this one presents itself. I am really excited.

I am a very creative person when it comes food or fruits that we consume at home. I am a mum of three great kids and my husband makes me the manager of all we eat and drink. This makes me to always source for tasty and nutritious meals for us all.

I love to make different fruit drinks at least once a week because we take more drinks than food in my home.
I am so concerned about my health and that of my family members because it’s one way that we can reduce visitation to the hospitals. And truly, health is wealth.

One of my favorite fruits drink is Zobo drink. This drink is made from the beautiful hibiscus flowering plants.
The color is beautiful, the taste is yummy and it’s one of the most nutritious because I try to boost it with spices and fruits as against refined sugar and flavors.
My husband now enjoys it more and sometimes consumes about 2/3 of whole drink. The cooling effect is second to none. My son says it’s looks blood but gives me a thumb up each I make it

So, today in this contest, I am going to share my favorite nutritious drink with everyone

5D2CC4A6-9508-4D48-9DAE-505A2C9CB3C4.jpeg

It’s called Zobo drink in my country, Nigeria. It’s readily available in local and supermarkets. It’s a Street drink just like Street foods. This drink is gold the during dry season and hot weather as almost everyone cherishes it.

Zobo is the dried calyces from the hibiscus flowering plant.
BA59F66F-CF25-4A43-B920-5CA3BD68D54F.jpeg
source
The hibiscus plant have massive medicinal properties even though they are mostly used for decorations.
These large colorful flowers come in many colors which could be red (used mainly in dietary supplements and for medicinal purposes)peach,white or yellow.

Different cultures use the hibiscus tea also known as sour tea as cure for different illnesses. Countries like Iran, many African countries make massive use of this plant to treat various illnesses.

Some of the medicinal uses of The hibiscus flower include;

  1. To lower high blood pressure and reduce cholesterol levels.
  2. It has anti-cancer properties that helps fight cancer.
  3. Most African countries use the tea to treat heart and nerve diseases, cold symptoms, sour throat and constipation.
  4. Zobo drink stimulates menstrual flow and helps relieve its pains too
    Pregnant and breastfeeding women should consult their doctors before consumption.
  5. This drink aids with weight loss and obesity.
    source

I personally boil the zobo leaves for herbal bath, drink the tea for inner beauty and hair rinse; and make into a pulp as mask on my face against acne. The result has been beautiful so far.

How I make my Zobo drink. The zobo drink is slightly different from the Zobo tea. I boil my tea with only Zobo leaves while the Zobo drink is added others spices and some fruits. But my concern for today shall be the the Zobo drink.

The ingredients include;

5D8A8ED9-18A2-434F-A130-BFF4214949BD.jpeg

712F1190-9892-4D61-8142-DD245C864F8E.jpeg

2434C123-DC03-4E76-ACDD-AB2A7A724807.jpeg

  1. I get a handful of zobo leaves (My focal point)
  2. I get some garlic (as required)
  3. Some slices of pineapple
  4. A piece of ginger
  5. Some cloves
  6. Some Sugar (optional)
  7. Some slices of watermelon
  8. Some plastic bottles for packaging.

C5E0ADDA-D0AB-4595-AD77-E235B4E9658C.jpeg

Procedures

I wash my zobo leaves (calyx)slightly to get rid of dust and dirts and place in the pot.
620CD199-3A28-47EC-8C9C-87844547627D.jpeg

I then pound
F7BA03BB-2E14-4AD1-B49C-C1800D251CD0.jpeg
or grate the clove (Cloves have anti-cancer properties, help in managing diabetes, respiratory health and blood circulation. Cloves help with digestion and treating acne). source;
ginger (Ginger helps to reduce gas and painful spasms in the intestines. It helps calm common cold, its warming effects helps to stimulate circulation. Ginger helps to reduce pains and inflammation thus making it helpful in managing arthritis and headaches.
Ginger helps to calm diarrhea and prevent stomach some ulcers).source

and garlic
3CD0C8FE-0CF7-46B7-A390-8FB02E485C5C.jpeg

source
and add to the pot.
I then cut the pineapple peels into bits and add to the pot as well. I add water 1 and 1/2 liters of water to the pot and set on fire to boil for at least 20 minutes.
1C1F08AC-4E35-45EF-B38A-517EDB922A48.jpeg

F5ADD2C8-17C8-49EF-B3EF-FB97A6D70A2A.jpeg

While it’s heating, I boil about one (1) liter of water in a separate pot or kettle and set aside.
After 20 minutes, I switch off the heat source and allow it to cool a little. I get a bigger pot and a cheese cloth or non-porous filter and sieve out the juice from the chaff. I add more water from the kettle to the chaff, rinse properly and sieve out more juice and discard the chaff.
I then blend my watermelon (Watermelon is a good source of Vitamin C that helps to maintain healthy skin and great eye sight. They have anti -oxidants and anti-cancer nutrients. They are quite hydrating and relatively low in sugar compared to other fruits they have usable carbs, magnesium and amino acid that is involved in healing and exercise recovery)source

4181BAE3-03B3-49B8-8CB7-268B1D8F70C2.jpeg

and pineapple
2C727D41-C391-47D3-A21A-963ED923849B.jpeg
source

05719E4A-FD70-4542-BA92-EBBBC8BF3516.jpeg

in a blender and add to my juicy Zobo drink. I cover and allow to cool properly before transferring to my plastic bottles for cooling in the fridge.

That’s it.
53565365-4204-4DD0-A153-1550E9F9C1E8.jpeg

My nutritious zobo drink is ready.
The hibiscus plant thrives in almost every environment. I indulge every one of us to seek and harness the goodness of this amazing plant so we can all enjoy the great health benefits it offers.

Please, kindly confirm from your medical personnel before consumption.

Thank you so much @steemhealthcare for this amazing opportunity. I feel quite fulfilled that I shared this recipe, it could be of great help to someone. I look forward to sharing more.

I invite my friends @beewrites, @graciee20, @steemtopus to also take part in this contest.

Thank you so much to all the Admin for the great job you’re doing;
@imamalkimas
@mudajuli
@ahyar92
@lidiasteem.

Sort:  

Hello @nneoma08. I never know that zozo leaves is gotten from hibiscus flowers. Wow! And you use fresh fruits to prepare the juice. Really? This juice must be very healthy indeed and tasty too. I'm surely gonna give this a try. But is there an alternative way to blending the fruit or can the fruits be added without blender? 'cause I don't have blender😔

Thank you so much @graciee20 for visiting. You can just chop them into tiny winy bits or you grate them if you have manual grater to extract more juice. Please, enjoy it chilled and the relaxing effects. 👌👌👌

Please subscribe to Steem Health Care Community. You will have wonderful experience here.

 3 years ago 

Hi @nneoma08 Thank you for your participation :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42