Daily Contest #1 : Tell How Your Family Mantains Health + Selfie With 1 Family Member (Reward Pool 15 STEEM) by @goodybest

in Steem Healthcare3 years ago (edited)

Hello friends!

It's my delight to participate in this Contest, I joined this Community today and I find this Contest to be interesting. thanks to the sponsors and the initiator of this Contest @ahyar92.

INTRODUCTION
Getting sick normally inconvenience both the young and the old, at the very least an illness is an expense. We don't only feel bad but when we're sick we may not be able to carry out our responsibilities, we may not go to work or school. We may even end up looking for someone to look after us and sadly we may have to pay for costly medicines and treatments.
Well as it been said that "prevention is better than cure" I normally took these practical steps to maintain Health in my family

FB_IMG_1607944186663.jpg
my lovely family

I USED SAFE WATER SUPPLY

Screenshot_20210428-073705_1.png
A lemon in a glass of water

I made a regular chore to obtain sufficient clean water for my family, this can be hard at times because water supply that is usually good to drink can become contaminated as a result of flood, storm pipe break or some other issues. I ensured that all our drinking water-including the water used for brushing teeth, making ice, washing food & dishes, cooking comes from a safe source as in adequately treated public supply or sealed bottles from a reputable firm.

And since there's a possibility that my pipe supply has contaminated, I boil my water before used or I treated it with an appropriate chemical product like chlorine or water purifying tablets and I used to follow maker's directions carefully. At times I add household bleach, eight drops per gallon of water (two drops per liter) mixed it well and let the water stand for 30Mins before using it, if there's no available water treatment product.
I also used to ensure that any vessel used to take water from my stored supply is clean, we used to handle water container with clean hands and I don't allow the children to dip their hands or fingers into water used for drinking.
This single practice has helped me to prevent or atleast slow down illness like diarrhea, typhoid, parasite infestation, cholera, hepatitis in my family.

I USED TO PRACTICE GOOD HYGIENE

Screenshot_20210428-073634_1.png
washing of items we used in taking care of our physical appearance, even the dental item
One of the best way I used in helping my family to avoid getting sick and spreading illnesses frequently is washing of hands regularly even the spread of the deadly covid-19 can be curb by simple habit of washing hands.
I taught my children how to properly wash their hands by first of all wetting their hands in a clean running water, then applying soap, rub their hands together to make lather, clean their nails, their thumbs, the back of their hands and between their fingers and to keep doing this for atleast 20 seconds, and rinse in clean running water. Then dry the hand with clean cloth or paper towel.

IMG_20210501_082023_316.jpg
my younger sis and I

We all wash our hands

  • after using the toilet
  • after treating wound or cuts
  • before and after being with a sick person
  • after handling cabbage
  • after sneezing, coughing, or blowing of nose
  • after touching animal or animal waste
  • before preparing, serving, or eating food
    We don't take this for granted, because this simple measure do avert illness an saves lives.
    Couple with that We keep our home clean always, I ensure the that the house and the surrounding is swept on daily basis and I mopped the floor with water mixed with household bleach twice a week, we washed our bathroom three times a week, I also ensured that the children bath and brushed their teeth twice a day, the younger children change their dresses twice too, I make sure that the wore clean dresses.

I WATCH WHAT MY FAMILY EAT

Screenshot_20210428-073724_1.png
vegetables and fruits
I used variety of wholesome foods from different food groups to cook for my family, this is because good health is impossible without good nutrition. We eat healthy balance diet. I normally consider our intake of sugar, salt and fats, I watch out portion size. Most importantly I included fruits and vegetables in our diet and I used to vary what we eat.

  • I used to read packaging to help me chose whole grain foods when buying bread, pasta, cereals or rice.
  • I normally go for richer nutrients and fibre food than the alternatives made from redefined grain.
  • we used to eat small and lean portions of meat
  • we eat fish a couple of times a week
  • I washed my food items thoroughly before preparing them
  • wash my hands, cutting boards, utensils, countertop with hot soapy water before preparing each item.
  • I make sure that I cooked until the food reaches the right temperature and I properly refrigerate any perishable items that are not going to be eaten immediately.
  • I used to discard perishable items left at room temperature for more than 2hours or 1hour if the air temperature exceeds (32°C)

WEUSED TO STAY PHYSICALLY ACTIVE

IMG_20210511_084012_784.jpg
I personally love exercising, I like performing some aerobic exercises like dancing, jogging, brisks walking and cycling etc, I used to go for a long walk with hubby three times a week, and our teenage children love playing football and cycling, this has kept us active and mobile, I used to allow the younger children to play outside for at least 2 hours a day.

IMG_20210422_112258_887.jpg
my handsome boys playing outside

This really help us to:

  • maintain strong bones and muscles
  • lower the risk of suffering depression
  • helped us sleep well
  • lower our risk of premature death.
    We choose activities that are fun and moderate.

IMG_20210421_092507_587.jpg
my son and I

LASTLY I USED TO MAKE SURE THAT WE ALL GET ENOUGH SLEEP

We don't consider getting enough sleep as optional, because sleep is important for

  • the growth and development in children and teenagers
  • learning and retention of new information
  • maintaining right balance of hormones that impact metabolism and weight and
  • disease prevention.
    So I used to try and make both my bedroom and the children's own quiet, dark and relaxing, try to get to bed and get up the same time every day, we don't watch or use gadgets while in bed. We avoid heavy meals before bed time. Further more my hubby and I try to get a least 7-8 hours of sleep everyday, the teenagers atleast 8-9hours, while the younger ones is 10-12hours everyday.

IMG_20200823_125243_575.jpg
my first son and I
This are the simple things I do to maintain my family health, I hope someone will find this useful. Thanks for reading through!

CCC:
@imamalkimas
@mudajuli
@lidiasteem
@ahyar92
@steemhealthcare

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations, you are one of the winners of the daily contest here.

juara daily.jpg

Well written Dear Sister, greetings from here.

 3 years ago 

I really appreciate your comments, thanks for visiting

 3 years ago 

I appreciate, thanks for visiting my blog

Wow, I'm sure you are all very healthy

 3 years ago 

Wow! You can say that again, you know as it's been said "health is wealth" thanks for visiting!

 3 years ago 

Thank you for participating in the # 1 daily contest. 😁

 3 years ago 

It's my pleasure!

Lovely family, it good to stay healthy, keep it up @goodybest

 3 years ago 

Thanks @eliany dear

Congratulation @goodybest...👏👏

 3 years ago 

Aww! Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63086.21
ETH 3455.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50