CONTEST ENTRY#5: TELL US WHAT HEALTHY FOOD AND DRINKS YOU LIKE AND RECIPES. VEGETABLE RICE IS MY BEST MEAL BY @emyekanem

in Steem Healthcare3 years ago (edited)
Greetings great admins, (@imamalkimas & @mudajuli) and moderators, (@goodybest, @lidiasteem & @ahyar92)of this great community. I'm really glad to participate in this contest. It's the kind of contest I enjoy because I love cooking a lot. I also, specially commend @ahyar92 for initiating a contest as this. You all deserve an accolade.

Permit me to make a short intro. about myself. My name is Emediong Ekanem and my username is @emyekanem. I am a student of English and Literary Studies in the University of Uyo. I love cooking, cycling and swimming. I love vegetable salad🥗 like mad. I can take it anytime and any day. I also love eating vegetable rice🍚, coconut🥥 rice🍚 and rice🍚 with tomato🍅 sauce(stew).

I'd love to share with us the healthy food I love eating which is vegetable rice.

PicsArt_07-13-03.47.12.jpg

I love this type of rice a lot, especially when I prepare it myself because I'll be able to control the cooking so I get the result I want. I don't like my rice being too soft.
Below are the Ingredients to Use:

  • Rice

  • Eggs

  • Vegetable (pumpkin leaves)

  • Onions

IMG_20210617_123306_752.jpg

  • Grinded pepper
  • Grinded crayfish
  • Seasoning cubes

IMG_20210617_123213_493.jpg

  • Palmoil
  • Salt

IMG_20210617_123009_642.jpg

The food is very easy to prepare and it has special nutritional values though it contains the six classes of food. Let me just go straight to the steps in preparing it. First of all, we have to prepare all the necessary Ingredients and make them handy. Preparing in the sense that the onions has been sliced, the crayfish and pepper has been grinded, the seasoning cubes has been peeled,etc.

IMG_20210617_125059_013.jpg

IMG_20210617_125047_279.jpg

STEPS ON HOW TO PREPARE VEGETABLE RICE

  • Parboil the rice and place it on a sieve

IMG_20210617_123949_352.jpg

  • Put an amount of water in the pot, that will be enough to cook the food and place it over heat.

  • Put in your seasoning cubes, salt and grinded pepper to taste.

  • Add the parboiled rice in the water and stir carefully before covering the pot to boil.

  • *After cooking for like 7-10 minutes in which the water will begin to dry up gradually before adding your onions, crayfish and palmoil then cover to cook.

  • Wash and slice the pumpkin leaves

IMG_20210617_130342_718.jpg

  • Add it to the rice (when the rice is two minutes or less to dry up) and cover for two minutes or three so the vegetable will still be fresh.

  • Take it off the fire🔥 and boil the egg for 7-10 minutes before taking it down.

  • Put them in cold water so you'll be able to take the shells off easily.

  • Dish out your meal and eat responsibly.😅😅

IMG_20210617_141609_701.jpg

Health Benefits of Pumpkin Leaves

  • The pumpkin leaves are a source of blood supplement.

  • It is nutritious and rich in vitamin A. The presence of this vitamin and Lutein protects the eyesight

  • It is low in calories as it contains 94% of water.

  • It reduces the risk of chronic diseases.

  • It is loaded with nutrients that can boost the immune system.

  • The presence of antioxidants may lower the risk of cancer.

*The presence of vit.c, potassium and fiber may improve heart health.
Pumpkin leaves has no known side effects but it should be eaten responsibly.

Health Benefits of Rice
Rice has so many benefits but I'll love to mention few.

  • Rice improves the health of the nervous system.

  • It is a good source of energy.

  • It prevents constipation.

  • It also reduces the risk of cancer.

  • It can be used for skin care.

  • It prevents obesity.

  • It controls the blood sugar level.

I hope I've been able to do justice to the recipes of the above healthy meal.
Thank you for reading my entry.
I invite my friends@utyalves, @ukpono and @paulyoung to come participate in this contest.

Special mention:
@goodybest
@ahyar92

Sort:  

start success go! go! go! GOMCAM 20210523_0006190897.png

 3 years ago (edited)

Hi @emyekanem
Thank you for your participation. I am very happy:)

Please edit to "Contest Announcement #5", there was a mistake from me

Olryt sir
Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34